Capablanca Memorial 2017 LIVE!

The Cuban Federation and the National Chess Commission, under the auspices of the National Institute of Sports Physical Education and Recreation (INDER), and the support of Hotel Chain Barceló and hotel Solymar Arenas Blancas, are organizing the 52nd Capablanca Memorial International Tournament, which will be held from May 26 to June 6, 2017.

This prestigious event is reaching its 52nd edition in 2017, being skipped only in 1966 on the occasion of the World Chess Olympiad in Cuba, in 1970, and in 1978 when Cuba hosted the World Festival of Youth and Students.

The winner of the first tournament in 1962 was Miguel Najdorf. The record with most tournament wins is held by Vassily Ivanchuk with 6 titles (2005, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, and 2012). Among Cubans, Leinier Dominguez has won three editions (2004, 2008 and 2009).

The main Elite Group is traditionally six-players double round robin. The average elo is 2656. See the full participants list here

Games start May 27th at 21:00 CET. You can follow Capablanca Chess 2017 live at Chessdom or on your mobile via the Chess Arena phone application.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018