Fernando Peralta edges Diego Flores to claim the Argentinian Championship

The 88th Chess Championship of Argentina took place from 25th August to 7th September at the Hotel Atrium Gualok – Resistencia – Roque Saenz Peña – Chaco. 14 players competed in the round robin event.

Grandmasters Fernando Peralta and Diego Flores finished equal first with 9,0/13 points each, but Peralta is awarded the national title thanks to the victory in direct encounter.

In the final two rounds Peralta defeated top rated opponents Flores and Felgaer.

Fernando Peralta

Fernando Peralta

Last year champion Martín Lorenzini finished mid-table with 6,5 points.

The Championship was organized by the Federacion Chaqueña de Ajedrez, the tournament director was IA Raul Bittel and the chief arbiter was IA Leandro Plotinsky.

Final standings:

1-2. GM Peralta Fernando 2609 and GM Flores Diego 2578 – 9,0
3-5. GM Valerga Diego 2490, GM Perez Ponsa Federico 2497 and GM Mareco Sandro 2561 – 7,5
6. GM Felgaer Ruben 2586 – 7,0
7-8. Lorenzini Martin 2487 and IM Iermito Sebastian 2473 – 6,5
9. IM Krysa Leandro 2422 – 6,0
10-11. IM Tristan Leonardo 2457 and GM Slipak Sergio 2444 – 5,5
12-13. FM Paveto Kevin 2343 and IM Liascovich Lucas 2447 – 5,0
14. IM Pierrot Facundo 2419 – 3,5

Tournament website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top