Chess bits

GM Daniel Gormally takes first place at the Edinburgh Chess Congress 2013

The Edinburgh Congress 2013 took place from Friday 12th to Sunday 14th April 2013 at the George Heriot’s School, Lauriston Place, Edinburgh.

The event was divided in five tournaments. The Premier Group was won by GM Daniel Gormally, who got an impressive 4.5/5 points performance. The Grandmaster took the £500 after joining in a late date, a decision he will not regret.

Second place was shared by four players: Calum MacQueen, Andrew B Burnett, Joseph McPhillips and John Jarmany. Full list of winners below.

Next year’s Congress is provisionally booked for March 29th- 31st, Easter weekend.

GM Gormally recently won the Brighton Masters

George Heriot's School

1st (£500) GM Daniel Gormally (England)
2nd = (£65 each) Calum MacQueen (Giffnock)
Andrew B Burnett (Wandering Dragons)
Joseph McPhillips (England)
John Jarmany (England)
1st Grading Prize: (£10 each) Stephen W Hogg (Dundee/Victoria)
WFM Carey A Groves (Wandering Dragons)
Walter Burnett (Wandering Dragons)
George D Pyrich
Russell J F Kynoch
2nd Grading Prize: (£25 each) Murad Abdulla (Bon Accord),
East of Scotland Joint Champions Calum MacQueen (Giffnock)
Andrew B Burnett (Wandering Dragons)
Edinburgh Evening News Cup Murad Abdulla (Bon Accord)
Challengers Event
1st = David Wallace (Falkirk)
(£55 each) Ben He (Edinburgh)
Nihad Abdulla (Bon Accord)
WFM Joy Durno (Newmachar)
Grading Prize (£30) Alan J Birnie (Irvine)
Major Event
1st = (£110 each) Jalini Maziar (England)
Dean Whittaker (Edinburgh resident)
Grading Prize: (£15 each) Charles Nisbet (Lasswade)
Harvey Duke (Dundee/Victoria)
Bishops Event
1st= (£36 each) Bryan O`Rourke (Dunfermline)
(1st, 2nd and Grading prize shared) Graeme R Russell (Bank of Scotland)
Howard Key (Gorgie Dalry)
Martin Beardsley (England)
Andrej Jakimiuk (Sandy Bells)
Adam Shannon (Dunfermline)
Iain D Hope (Musselburgh)
Knights Event
1st (£150) Roland Fraser (Paisley)
2nd= (£25) David Watson (Corstorphine)
Nicholas Blake (Stirling)
Mike Wallace (Sandy Bells)
Grading Prize (£15 each) Mark J Smith (Edinburgh)
Ian Alexander (Corstorphine)
Other Prizes
Best Game (£30)   judged by Gavin Saxton Malola T S Prasath (England)
Giant Killer Prize (£30) (grading difference 673) Euan Gray (North Juniors)
Prize Draw (£30) Ernesto Salvatore (Corstorphine)


Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top