GM Loek Van Wely and WIM Anne Haast are Dutch Chess Champions

The 2014 Dutch Individual Chess Championships for men and women took place on 6-13th July 2014 at the Manor Hotel in Amsterdam, the capital and most populous city in the Netherlands.

Both events were played in 8-player round-robin format.

The Women Section was won by WIM Anne Haast, who collected 5,5/7 points, leaving the runner-up half a point behind.

WGM Bianca De Jong-Muhren finished second with 5/7, full point ahead of the bronze medalist GM Peng Zhaoqin, who has the record number of 13 champion titles.

GM Loek Van Wely and GM Sergei Tiviakov shared first place in the Men Section on 4,5 points each.

The champion was decided by a tie-break match of two games with a time control 5′ + 3″. Van Wely claimed his seventh title after outplaying his opponent 2-0.

Third place was shared by GM Sipke Ernst and Wouter Spoelman on 4 points each.

Men Championship LIVE games/ Women Championship LIVE gamesOfficial website

2014 champion Anne Haast

2014 champion WIM Anne Haast

GM Loek Van Wely outplayed his opponent GM Sergey Tiviakov in two tie-break games to claim the title

GM Loek Van Wely outplayed his opponent GM Sergey Tiviakov in two tie-break games to claim his seventh title

Men Section final standings:

1 Van Wely, Loek 2657 4.5
2 Tiviakov, Sergei 2656 4.5
3 Ernst, Sipke 2554 4.0
4 Spoelman, Wouter 2571 4.0
5 Bok, Benjamin 2586 3.5
6 Van Kampen, Robin 2636 3.5
7 Reinderman, Dimitri 2604 2.0
8 L’Ami, Erwin 2650 2.0

Women Section final standings:

1 Haast, Anne 2296 5.5
2 De Jong-Muhren, Bianca 2296 5.0
3 Peng, Zhaoqin 2402 4.0
4 Lanchava, Tea 2286 3.5
5 Paulet, Iozefina 2227 3.0
6 Padurariu, Smaranda 2205 2.5
7 Hortensius, Lisa 2162 2.5
8 Kazarian, Anna-Maja 2025 2.0

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top