IM Justin Sarkar tops Louisville Open

The 6th Annual Louisville Open was held from September 20-22, 2013 at the Holiday Inn Southwest Fair Expo, Louisville, Kentucky.

A total of 112 players competed in four sections. The tournament format was five-round Swiss.

International Master Justin Sarkar swept his first four games before drawing his last round to clinch the $1,000 1st place prize in the Open Section, as well as the additional $50 bonus prize.

Tied for 2nd-4th were IM Ron Burnett, WGM Sabina-Francesca Foisor and Ohioan Ram Dake, who was also the top-scorer Under 2200. The three each won $400.

Holiday Inn Southwest Fair Expo

Holiday Inn Southwest Fair Expo

Young Anagh Kulkarni won the $800 1st prize in the Under 2000 Section with 4½ points. Once again, three players tied for 2nd-4th with 4 points: Lewis Sanders and Luke Weishaar each won $300, while Vincent Rozanskas’s reward was the $400 Top Under 1800 prize.

Jacob Hill posted the sole perfect score of the event, sweeping the Under 1600 Section en route to the $700 1st Prize, while Rachel Weishaar, Yoan Perez Bello and Matt Price each won $233.34, following their counterparts in the top two sections and scoring 4 points to tie for 2nd-4th.

In the Under 1200 Section, 4 points once more produced a three-way tie, this time for 1st-3rd, among (in order of tiebreaks) Akul Rajan, Ankush Dhawan and Mikhail Kovalev, who each received their respective plaques, along with an additional $240 a piece.

The remaining plaques were for Top Under 1000 (Calvin Houghland), Top Under 800 (Anna Kovaleva), Top Unrated (Paul Burke) and Top Under 600 (Violet De Credico).

Tournament website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top