IM Puchen Wang is champion of New Zealand

The 121st New Zealand Chess Congress was held on 2-12th January at the Alexandra Function Centre, Green Lane, in Auckland.

The Congress consisted of New Zealand Rapid Championship (2-3 Jan), New Zealand Lightning Championship (3rd Jan), 121st New Zealand Championship and Major Open (4-12 Jan).

IM Puchen Wang won the Championship, and Rapid, and also the Lightning! The Major Open title was shared by Sean Martin-Buss and Paul Macdonald.

Wang automatically qualified for the New Zealand Open team for the 2014 Chess Olympiad in Norway.

The 121st National Congress had a guaranteed prize fund of over $6000 and the new champion received $1000.

Full results can be found on the official website

New Zealand Flag

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018