Tata Steel B group 2011

Unpredictable chess in Wijk Aan Zee

The January rating list is just out and here are the participants of this years edition of Tata Steel 2011 with their updated ratings. The Tata Steel B group has a new rating leader – Radoslaw Wojtaszek, who had a series of strong tournaments, including the Chess Olympiad. The previous leader, David Navara, went through a difficult tournament in Reggio Emilia and is already tuned for strong competition.

Laurent Fressinet and Zahar Efimenko complete the 2700 club favorites for top places in the group. However, their task will not be easy at all as in Tata Steel B group are the most progressing and rating hungry opponents possible – Wesley So, Le Quang Liem, and Jon Ludvig Hammer.

Having London Classic participant Luke McShane and Anand’s second Surya Ganguly makes this year’s edition of Wijk Aan Zee B group unpredictable.

Radoslaw Wojtaszek POL 2726

David Navara CZE 2708

Laurent Fressinet FRA 2707

Zahar Efimenko UKR 2701

Gabriel Sargissian ARM 2667

Le Quang Liem VIE 2664

Wesley So PHI 2673

Luke McShane ENG 2664

Surya Ganguly IND 2651

Li Chao CHN 2649

Jon Ludvig Hammer NOR 2647

Vladislav Tkachiev FRA 2636

Friso Nijboer NED 2584

Wouter Spoelman NED 2547

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018