Chess

Sinquefield Cup 2018

2018-05-10The Sinquefield Cup sees Magnus Carlsen and 9 more of the world’s best players compete in the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis from 18-27 August 2018. The event is the penultimate leg of the 2018 Grand Chess Tour, with the tour regulars joined by wild card Magnus Carlsen. In adddition to tour points the prize fund is $300,000, with $75,000 for 1st place. Players receive 100 minutes for 40 moves then 60 minutes for the rest of the game, with a 30-second delay from move 1. A tie for first place will be decided in a 2-game Rapid mini-match (10min + 5sec delay), only between the top two, and if necessary an Armageddon game (5 vs. 4) on 28 August at 13:00 local time.

Players

Alexander Grischuk • Fabiano Caruana • Hikaru Nakamura • Levon Aronian • Maxime Vachier-Lagrave • Shakhriyar Mamedyarov • Sergey Karjakin • Viswanathan Anand • Wesley So • Magnus Carlsen (WC)

Live game with analysis will be provided daily with the best chess software competing in the Top Chess Engine Championship – Komodo, Houdini, and Stockfish.

More live chessFrench chess championship 2018 /Conca della Presolana Open 2018 /European Youth Championships 2018

Schedule of Events

DATE TIME* EVENT
Thursday, August 16 1:00 PM Ultimate Moves
Friday, August 17 4-5:30 PM Autograph Signing
6:00 PM Opening Ceremony**
Saturday, August 18 1:00 PM Round 1
Sunday, August 19 1:00 PM Round 2
Monday, August 20 1:00 PM Round 3
Tuesday, August 21 1:00 PM Round 4
Wednesday, August 22 1:00 PM Round 5
Thursday, August 23 Rest Day
Friday, August 24 1:00 PM Round 6
Saturday, August 25 1:00 PM Round 7
Sunday, August 26 1:00 PM Round 8
Monday, August 27 1:00 PM Round 9
Tuesday, August 28 1:00 PM Playoff (if necessary)
6:00 PM Closing Ceremony**

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018