Tradewise Gibraltar Chess Festival 2013

The 2013 Tradewise Gibraltar Chess Festival starts on Sunday 20 January at the Caleta Hotel in Gibraltar with simultaneous displays at 20:00 hours (CET).

The opening ceremony is at 20:30 hours (CET) on Monday 21 January. Play in the main event, the 11th Gibraltar Masters, begins at 15:00 hours (CET) on Tuesday 22 January.

The leading competitors this year are Vassily Ivanchuk (2758), Gata Kamsky (2740), Michael Adams (2725), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (2723), Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (2711), David Navara (2710), Alexei Shirov (2708), Le Quang Liem (2705) and last year’s winner Nigel Short (2696).

Ivanchuk Short 2011

Ivanchuk Short 2011

A strong women’s contingent is headed by Anna Muzychuk (2582), Nana Dzagnidze (2555), Zhao Xue (2554), Marie Sebag (2530), Pia Cramling (2518), 2012 Women’s World Championship runner-up Antoaneta Stefanova (2506), Viktorija Cmilyte (2515), Harika Dronavalli (2514) and Ju Wenjun (2505).

Further details at the official website – live coverage begins on 21 January (Challengers and Amateur events). Download press release.

John Saunders
Gibraltar Festival Press Officer

Irina Krush playing cricket 2009

Irina Krush playing cricket

Muzychuk Anna

Anna Muzychuk

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018