The 2011 WSOP

A Mere 50 Days Away


The World Series of Poker has survived more than 40 years of poker drama. In fact, this year, the 2011 series marks the 42nd annual WSOP, which has come a long way from the first event that took place in 1970 and only saw six players competed. Today more than 70,000 registrants are expected to show up and compete for the most prized award in poker—the WSOP bracelet. This year 58 bracelets will be given out in various events that will feature a variety of poker variants and span buy-ins ranging from $500 to $50,000. Almira Skripchenko is one of the chess players that might have a shot at the title, but multiple chess enthusiasts are also expected to compete.

The WSOP takes place in Las Vegas, Nevada at the Rio All-Suite Hotel in the 100,000-square-foot ballroom where 380 poker tables await competitors that will come from more than 115 countries from all over the world all in hopes to win some cash and one of those coveted 58 bracelets. Not to mention the 24-hour cash games, mega-satellite tourneys going on daily, and daily single-table tournaments, as well as NLH tournaments that will take place three times per day with buy-ins as low as $135, all going on on the side lines of the big events.

It all goes down on May 31st at noon when the Employees NLH event kicks off with a buy-in of $500. Shortly thereafter, the first big money tournament will run at 5:00 p.m., the Heads Up NLH Championship with a buy-in of $25,000 and max player cap set at 256. The whole series will run thourgh July 7, 2011 when the final nine players left in the Main Event will save the last stand off for November.

You can either start saving your money now for one or more of the upcoming WSOP events, or win your way in via one of the hundreds of 2011 WSOP satellites that you can find at any of the major online poker sites. Some satellites cost mere pennies to buy into, so the return is quite the prize if you end up with a seat to one of the WSOP events, or better yet, the Main Event.

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018