Chess News

10th Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament

The 10th Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament is set to take place on 14-23rd January at the Ludlow Castle Sports Complex, Near Kashmere Gate Metro Station, Civil Lines New Delhi, India.

The tournament will be conducted as per FIDE Laws of Chess and FIDE Swiss System with 11 rounds. Subject to FIDE approval, Accelerated Pairing will be employed for first two rounds of the event to increase norm chances of players.

In case of a tie, the latest FIDE Rules shall come in to effect. The Cash prizes however will not be shared. Total Cash Prizes: Rs. 15,00,000/- ($33333 approx).

AICF registration fee for 2011-12 is compulsory for all Indian participants. The registration fee of Rs. 250/- will be accepted at the venue for the convenience of the players.

All participants will be provided free hotel accommodation on triple sharing basis. The accompanying persons will have to bear their own expenses. Players are requested to inform their room mate preference if any well in advance for making rooming list accordingly.

The weather in Delhi during January is expected to be cold. The minimum / maximum temperature will be around 5/25 Degree Celsius.

More than 250 players confirmed their participation so far and entries are pouring day by day.

Top rated participants:
1 GM Aleksandrov Aleksej 2626 BLR
2 GM Kravtsiv Martyn 2601 UKR
3 GM Ulibin Mikhail 2587 RUS
4 GM Deviatkin Andrei 2574 RUS
5 GM Barbosa Oliver 2571 PHI
6 GM Gleizerov Evgeny 2566 RUS
7 GM Oleksienko Mikhailo 2563 UKR
8 GM Kunte Abhijit 2548 IND
9 GM Simantsev Mikhail 2548 UKR
10 GM Sethuraman S P 2543 IND
11 GM Danielsen Henrik 2542 ISL
12 GM Paragua Mark 2522 PHI
13 GM Bitoon Richard 2515 PHI
14 IM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 2513 IND
15 GM Gomez John Paul 2506 PHI
16 IM Kuderinov Kirill 2504 KAZ
17 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J 2492 IND
18 Yu Ruiyuan 2487 CHN
19 GM Dzhumaev Marat 2485 UZB
20 IM Lalith Babu M R 2484 IND
21 IM Shyam Nikil P 2482 IND
22 IM Ashwin Jayaram 2472 IND
23 GM Neelotpal Das 2471 IND
24 Ma Qun 2462 CHN
25 IM Thejkumar M S 2452 IND
26 GM Hoang Thanh Trang 2446 HUN
27 IM Vakhidov Jahongir 2437 UZB
28 GM Thipsay Praveen M 2435 IND
29 GM Laxman R R 2431 IND
30 GM Sriram Jha 2418 IND

The 9th Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament saw 25 Grandmasters in action in a field of around 400 players from more than 20 countries. The winner was Ukrainian Grandmaster Alexander Areshchenko.

Contact and more information:
Mr. MS Gopakumar, IA (Registration) 9868624216/ 9986883449
Mr. Sandeep Singh, FA (Registration) 9953435457
Mr. AK Verma (Accommodation) 9891468906
Mr. Bharat Singh (Chairman, Organising Committee) 9810000007
Web site:

The playing venue at the Ludlow Castle Sports Complex

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top