Chess News

12th Poikovsky Tournament

Another stealth tournament in Russia has been successfully hiding from the public until its very beginning. The 12th Poikovsky tournament in honour of the former World Champion Anatoly Karpov is starting on 4th and continues until 13th October.

Ten players compete in the round robin tournament and six of them very previously winners in Poikovsky. GM Lazaro Bruzon of Cuba was the first to arrive to Nefteyugansk on 1st October. The opening ceremony takes place Monday at the local “House of Youth”.

Head of the Nefteyugansk district Vladimir Semenov and former World Champion Anatoly Karpov greeted the participants on the official website.

Sergey Karjakin (Russia, 2772, Poikovsky winner in 2010)
Dmitry Jakovenko (Russia, 2716, Poikovsky winner in 2007)
Fabiano Caruana (Italy, 2712)
Etienne Bacrot (France, 2705, Poikovsky winner in 2005)
Zahar Efimenko (Ukraine, 2703)
Viktor Laznicka (the Czech Republic , 2701)
Alexander Motylev (Russia, 2690, Poikovsky winner in 2009)
Lazaro Bruzon (Cuba, 2682)
Sergei Rublevsky (Russia, 2681, Poikovsky winner in 2008)
Alexander Onischuk (USA, 2669, Poikovsky winner in 2002 and 2003)

A rich chess autumn in Russia is completed with other strong events – Saratov round robin and Mikhail Chigorin Memorial in St.Petersburg.

Thanks to Mr.Alexander Kentler

Sergey Karjakin

Sergey Karjakin

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2021

To Top