Chess bits

14th Bangkok Chess Club Open

Bangkok Chess Club has the honour of inviting all chess players to participate in the 14th Bangkok Chess Club Open 2014 from 12th to 19th of April 2014 at the 5-star Dusit Thani Bangkok Hotel.

The 13th Open hosted more than 300 players from 40 countries, and this year the tournament is expected to be the biggest and strongest open tournament ever held in Thailand.

There are two groups of play: Open category for all players, and Challenger category for players rated below 2100 or unrated (ratings based on FIDE ratings – national ratings will be validated by the organizer).

FIDE (International Chess Federation) rules and regulations shall apply. Results will be sent for FIDE rating calculations, and are eligible for FIDE title norms.

Both groups will be played using the Swiss System, with 9 rounds for Open, and 7 rounds for Challenger.

Aerial view of The Dusit Thani Pattaya

Aerial view of The Dusit Thani Pattaya

14th BCC Open 2014: 1st prize 100,000 Baht, with additional prizes for 2-10 ranks and 5 best Thai players
BCC Challenger 2014: 1st prize Baht 20,000, with additional prizes for 2-5 ranks
Certificates/trophies for top 3 Juniors and Best Lady Player in both categories
Please note: Under Thai law, 5% tax must be deducted from the prize money. All prizes are in Thai Baht

Chief Arbiter IA Markku Kosonen (Finland)
Deputy Chief Arbiter IA Panupand Vijjuprabha

Venue – The tournament will be held in the Dusit Thani Bangkok, 946 Rama IV Road, Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand

Tournament website

Dusit Thani Pattaya - the lagoon at sunset

Dusit Thani Pattaya – the lagoon at sunset

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top