Chess bits

2013 Irish Chess Championships

ICU_logoThe Irish Chess Championships will take place from the 6th to the 14th of July. Events include The Irish Championship, The Irish Women’s Championship, Open, Intermediate and Juniors Championship, ICU Instructor and FIDE Trainer Courses.

This competition will take place in the PESS building on the University of Limerick main campus.

Time control is 40 moves in 90 minutes with an additional 30 minutes for the rest and a 30 second increment from move 1.

Only players who are registered with Ireland by FIDE and have had a rating 1800 or higher (ICU or FIDE) from September 1st 2012 are eligible to play in the Irish Chess Championships.

Minimum Prize-pool: 1st – €1,600; 2nd – €800; 3rd – €300.

Tournament website


First Name Last Name Rating
Colm Daly 2339
David Fitzsimons 2331
Philip Short 2260
Mark Orr 2247
Mel O’Cinneide 2225
John Redmond 2217
Jonathan O’Connor 2149
Paul Walsh 2118
Killian Delaney 2117
Rory Quinn 2101
Ciaran Quinn 2098
Anthony Fox 2093
Gerard MacElligott 2050
Gordon Freeman 2047
John Hughes 2046
Raymond O’Rourke 2023
Martin Crichton 1965
John Cormican 1965
Martin O’Grady 1903
Kevin O’Flaherty* 1880
Pat Twomey 1875


Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top