Chess bits

2016 Arbiters’ Awards

Official FIDE logo

The FIDE Arbiters’ Commission has the pleasure to announce the nominees of the 2016 Arbiters’ Awards.

The requirements for the Arbiters to be awarded were:
(a) to have obtained the IA title before 1981 (35 years of service as an IA)
(b) to have worked as an Arbiter in at least three (3) FIDE Major Events (Olympiads, World Championships).

The Arbiters to be awarded are (in alphabetical order):

– DREPANIOTIS, Panagiotis (GREECE) (IA title awarded in 1980)
– GASANOV, Faik (AZERBAIJAN) (IA title awarded in 1980)
– GIJSSEN, Geurt (NETHERLAND) (IA title awarded in 1979)
– KAMESWARAN, V. (INDIA) (IA title awarded in 1980)
– LOBANOV, Yuri (RUSSIA) (IA title awarded in 1979)
– MELIKSTET-BEK, Evgeny (GEORGIA) (IA title awarded in 1979)
– VEGA, Jorge (GUATEMALA) (IA title awarded in 1979)
– WELCH, David (ENGLAND) (IA title awarded in 1977)
– ZHARIC, Borivoje (SERBIA) (IA title awarded in 1970)

The Awards Ceremony will take place during the General Assembly of the 2016 Baku FIDE Congress and the awarded Arbiters, or their representatives, are kindly requested to be present, in order to receive their awards.

Takis Nikolopoulos
FIDE Arbiters’ Commission

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top