Chess bits

2016 Inductees to U.S and World Chess Halls of Fame Announced

Hall of Fame

An induction ceremony on April 13, 2016, will recognize five exceptional chess players as they take their places in history as members of the World Chess Hall of Fame and the U.S. Chess Hall of Fame.

Representatives of the World Chess Federation (Fédération Internationale des Échecs or FIDE) nominated and selected David Bronstein, Sonja Graf­Stevenson and Howard Staunton for induction into the World Chess Hall of Fame. They join 24 other players who have received the honor since the World Chess Hall of Fame’s creation in 2001. Members of the World Chess Hall of Fame are chosen for their total contribution to the sport. Players as well as others who have made an impact as authors, journalists, organizers and in other ways are eligible for induction.

“This year’s inductees into the World Chess Hall of Fame are recognized for their level of play as well as their overall contributions to the game,” Beatriz Marinello, FIDE Vice President, said. The U.S. Chess Federation Hall of Fame Committee considers and sends candidates for the U.S.

Chess Hall of Fame to the U.S. Chess Trust each year. The trustees of the U.S. Chess Trust voted on candidates, selecting Grandmasters Maurice Ashley and Gata Kamsky to join the other 55 players currently in the U.S. Hall of Fame.

“Ashley and Kamsky have both made a tremendous impact on the chess world. Both highly accomplished players, Ashley has broadened the visibility of chess among key audiences, and Kamsky has demonstrated the unique ability to sustain a high caliber of play over more than three decades. We are thrilled to celebrate these elite players,” Harold Winston, U.S. Chess Trust

Each player is commemorated at the World Chess Hall of Fame in Saint Louis, Missouri with a plaque bearing their image and a biography of their notable contributions to the game. “The 2016 induction ceremony will recognize these important players of our time, their tremendous chess careers and their undeniable influence on the game,” Shannon Bailey, chief curator of the World Chess Hall of Fame in Saint Louis, said.

About the 2016 World Chess Hall of Fame Honorees
David Bronstein​​ (1924 – 2006)
Sonja Graf­Stevenson (1908 – 1965)
Howard Staunton (1810 – 1874)

About the 2016 U.S. Chess Hall of Fame Honorees
Maurice Ashley​(b. 1966)
Gata Kams​ky (b. 1974)

About ​​the World Chess Hall of Fame

The World Chess Hall of Fame is a nonprofit organization committed to building awareness for the cultural and artistic significance of chess. It opened on September 9, 2011, in the Central West End after moving from previous locations in New York and Miami. The World Chess Hall of Fame is located at 4652 Maryland Avenue, housed in an historic 15,900 square­foot residence­turned ­business, and features the U.S. and World Chess Halls of Fame, displays of artifacts from the permanent collection and exhibitions highlighting the great players, historic games and rich cultural history of chess. The World Chess Hall of Fame partners with the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis to provide innovative programming and outreach to local, national and international audiences.

For more information, please visit the World Chess Hall of Fame online at

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top