Chess bits

2nd Annual Washington International Tournament

The 2nd Annual Washington International is taking place on 6-11th August at the Rockville Hilton, 1750 Rockville Pike, Maryland, United States.

The tournament is being played over 9 rounds of Swiss system with the time control 40/90, SD/30 30/inc.

Among the registered players, we find 11 Grandmasters and 16 International Masters with a wide range of nationalities; players from Colombia, Georgia, Israel, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, Cuba, Germany, India, among others, are enlisted. Naturally, an important amount of Americans are also participating.

Strong GMs such as American Alex Lenderman, recent winner of the Southern Open Yuniesky Quesada, Dortmund participant Daniel Fridman and Israeli Ilya Smirin are registered. Full list below.

Rockville Hilton

Rockville Hilton

The A Section (Minimum 2100 FIDE or 2200 USCF) has a guaranteed prize fund of $22,000: 1st $5000, 2nd $3000, 3rd $2000, 4th $1000, 5th $900, 6th $800, 7th $700, 8th $600 etc

The B Section (Under 2201 USCF and Under 2200 FIDE, FIDE rated) offers a guaranteed prize fund of $4,000: 1st $1500, 2nd $700, 3rd $400, 1st Under 2000 $600, 2nd Under 2000 $300, 1st Under 1800 $500.

Tournament website

Registered players:

Alex Lenderman GM USA
Mikheil Kekelidze GM GEO
Gildardo Garcia GM COL
Daniel Fridman GM GER
Ioan-Cristian Chirila GM ROM
Kidambi Sundararajan GM IND
Ilya Smirin GM ISR
Nicolay Legky GM FRA
Larry Kaufman GM USA
Fidel Jimenez GM CUB
Yuniesky Perez GM CUB
Farai Mandizha IM ZIM
Nazi Paikidze IM GEO
Vitaly Neimer IM ISR
Adam Hunt IM ENG
Kayden Troff IM USA
Leon Piasetski IM CAN
Tegshsuren Enkhbaht IM USA
Alfonso Almeida IM MEX
Daniel Ludwig IM USA
Roberto Marin del Campo IM MEX
Mackenzie Molner IM USA
Oladalpo Adu IM NGR
Olape Bunmi IM NGR
Michael Mulyar IM USA
Darwin Yang IM USA
Justin Sakar IM USA
Katerina Rohonyan WGM USA
Yuvarajan, Prathiba WIM IND
Ian Thompson FM ENG
Shinsaku Uesugi FM JPN
Atulya Shetty FM USA
Michael Barron FM CAN
Michael Kleinman FM CAN
Allan Savage FM USA
Aleksandr Ostrovskiy FM USA
Pablo Venegas FM MEX
Jorge Martin del Campo FM MEX
Akshat Chandra FM USA
Shiyam Thavandiran FM CAN
Jonathan Chiang FM USA
Seth Homa FM USA
Sabrina Chevannes WFM ENG
Megan Lee WFM USA
Sarah Chiang WFM USA
Aaron Khan   USA
Jeremy Kane   USA
Daniel Clancy   USA
Levy Rozman   USA
Stanislav Busygin   USA
Mario Alexis Arias   PER
Adithya Balasubramanian   IND
Sean Vibbert   USA
Kevin Wang   USA

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top