Chess News

Adams wins 105th British Championship 2018

Michael AdamsThe 105th British Championship took place from July 28-August 5 in the City Hall of Hull, England. It was a nine-round Swiss which had 66 players, including 14 grandmasters.
GM Michael Adams took the lead after he defeated in round 7 GM Gawain Jones with 6 points.
In round 8 he drew against GM Nicholas Perth, which allowed to GM David Howell to catch him with both on 6.5 out of 8.
In the last round Howell lost to Luke McShane. Adams was doing well against GM Danny Gormally but allowed his opponent to get away with a draw.

That meant a tie between Adams and McShane for first place, and a playoff was needed.

First, two rapid games were played with 20 minutes and 10 seconds increment. Adams won the first one easy and in the second game also was winning. But having total control he blundered and lost, which meant another two games of five minutes plus three seconds increment.

This time Adams kept his nerves and won both games, winning his 6th title.

IM Jovanka Houska was the best woman with 5 points.
CM Thomas Villiers won the Major Open event with 7.5 out of 9.

Replay the games here

Final standings

1.Adams Michael 7
2.Mcshane Luke J 7
3.Howell David Wl 6,5
4.Jones Gawain Cb 6,5
5.Pert Nicholas 6
6.Fodor Tamas Jr 6
7.Ghasi Ameet K 6
8.Gormally Daniel W 6
9.Fernandez Daniel H 6
10.Arkell Keith C 6
Eggleston David J 6
Hawkins Jonathan 5,5
Tan Justin Hy 5,5
Wells Peter K 5,5
Palliser Richard Jd 5,5
Trent Lawrence 5,5
Mcphillips Joseph 5,5
Roberson Peter T 5,5
Adair James R 5
Ward Chris G 5
Hebden Mark L 5
Houska Jovanka 5
Macklin Paul 5
Zakarian David 5
Kalavannan Koby 5
Pritchett Craig W 5
Emms John M 4,5
Bradbury Neil H 4,5
Fitzsimons David 4,5
Derakhshani Borna 4,5
Webb Laurence E 4,5
Kolbus Dietmar 4,5
Zapolskis Antanas 4,5
Wall Tim P 4,5
Kalaiyalahan Akshaya 4,5
Payne Matthew J 4,5
Pollack Oscar 4,5
Young Daniel J 4,5
Murphy Conor E 4
Toma Katarzyna 4
Britton Richard 4
Rudd Jack 4
Tozer Philip Aa 4
Maroroa Sue Y 4
Krzyzanowski Patryk 4
Mcdougall William M 4
Miller Dominic 4
Muir Andrew J 3,5
Abdulla Murad 3,5
Moore Graham J 3,5
Longson Sarah N 3,5
Jarmany John 3,5
Verma Aditya 3,5
Jackson Sheila 3,5
Iyengar Ilya 3,5
Burke Mitchell R 3
Mcmichael Richard J 2,5
Waddington Mike P 2,5
Sugden John N 2,5
Price Gwilym T 2,5
Ratnesan Ranesh 2,5
Thurlow Kevin J 2,5
De Coverly Roger D 2,5
Jamroz Krzysztof 2
Anderton David W 0
Stephenson David W 0

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top