Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee Memorial

Amravati based International Master Swapnil Dhopade of Railways with eight and half points won the Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee Memorial All India Open Fide Rated Chess Tournament after settling for half point against team mate Sauravh Khherdekar in the tenth and final round here at Naivedhyam Hall on Tuesday.

Three players tied for the runner-up spot with eight points but better tie break score helped International Master Shyam Nikil to finish second while defending champion Kerala based International Master Rathnakaran of Railways finished third. Nagpur based Railwayman Savurah Khherdekar satisfied with fourth spot finish. In the final round, Rathnakaran beat Abhishek Das while Shyam Nikil got better off Akash Thakur.

Winner Swapnil Dhopade receiving trophy

Runner-up Shyam Nikil receiving the trophy from Air Marshal Athawale

Asian Under-18 Girl’s Gold medalist Rucha Pujari of Maharashtra adjudged as Best Woman player of the tourney while Prince Bajaj of Delhi, T S Patil of Maharashtra, Ravi L Bhowte and Ashish Kumar bagged the Best Sub-Junior, Best Veteran, Best Unrated and Best Defence Ward prizes. Akash Thakur won the cash prize for Best Orange City Player. Special cash award was given to Shailesh Nerlikar, a physically challenged participant, who conquered the 64 squares with his determination and will power.

In a colourful closing ceremony, Air Marshal PV Athawale PVSM AVSM VSM ADC, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Maintenance Command, Indian Air Force gave away the prizes along with Air Marshal S Sriram, Senior Maintenance Staff Officer, Air Vice Marshal JS Kler VM, Senior Air and Admin Staff Officer, Maintenance Command and Shri. Manoj Itkelwar, Working President Vidarbha Chess Association.

Shailesh Nerlikar receiving special prize from Air Marshal Athawale

Gathering in closing ceremony

Important Results (Round-10) :- FM Sauravh Khherdekar of Railways (8) drew with IM Swapnil Dhopade of Railways (8.5); IM Himanshu Sharma of Haryana (7.5) drew with Navin Kanna T U of Tamilnadu (7.5); IM S Satyapragyan of Air India (7.5) drew with IM Murali Krishnan B T of Railways (7.5); IM K Rathnakaran of Railways (8) beat Abhishek Das of Jharkhand (7); Akash Thakur of Railways (7) lost to IM Shyam Nikil of Tamilnadu (8); IM Karthikeyan P of Tamilnadu (7.5) drew with Ram S Krishnan of Tamilnadu (7.5); GM Laxman of Railways (7.5) beat WFM Rucha Pujari of Maharashtra (7); Sameer Kathmale of Maharashtra (6.5) lost to IM Anwesh Upadhyaya of Orissa (7.5); Niladri Shekhar Bhattacharya of West Bengal (6.5) lost to IM Akshayraj Kore of Maharashtra (7.5); IM Singh D P of Railways (7) drew with CM Prince Bajaj of Delhi (7).

Final Standings (Main Prize List : Top 20)
1 IM Swapnil S Dhopade Railways 8½
2 IM Shyam Nikil P Tamilnadu 8
3 IM Rathnakaran K Railways 8
4 FM Sauravh Khherdekar Railways 8
5 IM Himanshu Sharma Haryana 7½
6 IM Akshayraj Kore Maharashtra 7½
7 GM Laxman R R Railways 7½
8 IM Murali Krishnan B T Railways 7½
9 IM Satyapragyan Swayangsu Air India 7½
10 IM Karthikeyan P Tamilnadu 7½
11 Navin Kanna T U Tamilnadu 7½
12 FM Soman Satchidanand Maharashtra 7½
13 IM Anwesh Upadhyaya Orissa 7½
14 Ram S Krishnan Tamilnadu 7½
15 IM Deshmukh Anup LIC 7½
16 IM Shetty Rahul Air India 7½
17 Deepak Katiyar Uttarpradesh 7½
18 Kulkarni Chinmay Maharashtra 7½
19 Agarwal Brajesh LIC 7½
20 Jaiswal Puneet Jharkhand 7½

Category Prizes

Elo 2200-2399
1 Abhishek Das
2 IM Singh D P

Elo 2000- 2199
1 Manigandan S S
2 Santoshkashyap Hg

Elo 1999 & Below
1 Pradip Tiwari
2 Aditya Chakraborty

Best Sub-Junior
1 CM Prince Bajaj
2 Prasannaa S

Best Woman
1 WFM Pujari Rucha
2 Anuja Bombatkar

Best Veteran
1 Patil T S
2 Srivastava V K

Best Unrated
1 Ravi L Bhowte
2 Daleep Singh

Best Organge City Players
1 Thakur Akash
2 Pratik R Shriwas

Best Defence Ward
1 Ashish Kumar
2 J Ram Tejas

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top