Chess News

Arjun Erigaisi wins Tata Steel Chess India Blitz 2022

The Blitz portion of the Tata Steel Chess India Rapid & Blitz 2022, kicked off yesterday in Kolkata. The event featured a very strong line-up with an interesting mixture of world-class grandmasters and Indian young chess stars.

19-year-old Indian grandmaster Arjun Erigaisi convincingly won the event with a round to spare. Erigaisi defeated Hikaru Nakamura in the penultimate round to secure the Winner trophy. Nakamura in the end trailed by a full point and finished second with 12/18 points. GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov clinched bronze scoring 9.5 points. Scroll down for the final rankings

Read more: Nihal Sarin is the Winner of Tata Steel Chess India Rapid 2022

Arjun Erigaisi claims title at the Tata Steel Chess India Blitz 2022; Photo by Lennart Ootes

Tata Steel Chess India Blitz 2022 – Final rankings:

Rk. NameRtgPts. TB1TB2TB3TB4
1GMErigaisi Arjun 2750130108.3106
2GMNakamura Hikaru 290912094.5103
3GMMamedyarov Shakhriyar 27339.5082.563
4GMMaghsoodloo Parham 267291.58162
5GMVidit Santosh Gujrathi 266990.57873
6GMPraggnanandhaa R 25998.5071.7573
7GMNihal Sarin 27028173.562
8GMSo Wesley 27638165.562
9GMAbdusattorov Nodirbek 26667.5068.2542
10GMGukesh D 26326.5057.2561

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top