Chess News

Australia Chess Olympiad 2008 team update

Shannon Oliver replaces Irina Berezina

chessdom logo

The Australian women’s Olympic team has changed their top board player, the captain Andras Toth informed this weekend. Irina Berezina had to pull out and she will be replaced by Shannon Oliver.

Thus, the final teams for Australia are as follows:

Men: GM Zong-Yuan Zhao, IM David Smerdon, IM Stephen Solomon, GM Darryl Johansen, IM George Xie. Captain is FM Manuel Weeks.

Women: WIM Arianne Caoili, Giang Nguyen, WIM Laura Moylan, WIM Biljana Dekic, Shannon Oliver. Captain is IM Andras Toth.

More teams from the Dresden Olympiad at the Olympic teams 2008 page.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top