Chess bits

Capablanca Memorial 2017

Capablanca MemorialThe Cuban Federation and the National Chess Commission, under the auspices of the National Institute of Sports Physical Education and Recreation (INDER), and the support of Hotel Chain Barceló and hotel Solymar Arenas Blancas, are organizing the 52nd Capablanca Memorial International Tournament, which will be held from May 26 to June 6, 2017.

Since 1962, on the initiative of Commander Ernesto “Che” Guevara, an annual tribute to the legendary world champion José Raúl Capablanca is being held in Havana, Cuba.

This prestigious event is reaching its 52nd edition in 2017, being skipped only in 1966 on the occasion of the World Chess Olympiad in Cuba, in 1970, and in 1978 when Cuba hosted the World Festival of Youth and Students.

The winner of the first tournament in 1962 was Miguel Najdorf. The record with most tournament wins is held by Vassily Ivanchuk with 6 titles (2005, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, and 2012). Among Cubans, Leinier Dominguez has won three editions (2004, 2008 and 2009).

The main Elite Group is traditionally six-players double round robin. The average elo is 2656. The Open section will feature more than 140 participants, including 14 Grandmasters and 30 International Masters.

Elite section:

GM Ivanchuk Vassily UKR 2738
GM Cordova Emilio PER 2645
GM Sasikiran Krishnan IND 2669
GM Shankland Samuel USA 2676
GM Piorun Kacper POL 2638
GM Ortiz Suarez Isan Reynaldo CUB 2570

Official website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top