Chess bits

Carlsen wins fourth straight Chess Oscar

The chess magazine “64”, represented by its editor-in-chief Mark Glukhovsky, awarded the 2012 Chess Oscar to Magnus Carlsen. This is the fourth straight time that the Norwegian prodigy receives this prestigious award. The selection of the player to receive this accolade is made through a democratic vote among chess journalists and players.

Carlsen’s dominance in the tournaments played last year was evident. Here we present all the successful results he had during 2012:

Second place in Tata Steel Tournament, behind Levon Aronian
Clear win at the Tal Memorial
Second place at the World Rapid Chess Championship, behind Sergey Karjakin
First place on tiebreak at Grand Masters Final
Successful presentation at the Gran Fiesta UNAM in Mexico
Rating record, surpassing Kasparov’s best historical mark
Clear first at the 4th London Chess Classic

Magnus Carlsen receiving his trophy

Magnus Carlsen receiving his trophy

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top