Chess News

Continental Elections 2014 (Update 9)

ECU Back to Europe campaign team

The Union of the Many headed by Zurab Azmaiparashvili wins ECU continental elections

The Continental Presidents will be elected today, right after the FIDE elections. Stay tuned with for full updates on the race.

20:00 CET

Sheikh Sultan reelected Asian Continental President after a crushing 38-12 win over Pichay Prospero.

20:05 CET

Voting for the European Chess Union finished. Results are expected soon.

20:15 CET

Zurab Azmaiparashvili is the new ECU President. He collected 33 votes against only 18 for Silvio Danailov. This guarantees a good sponsorship package for European chess

20:39 CET

The ECU meetings continue with individual board members voting

21:10 CET

Africa Continental elections to take place tomorrow, it is one of the disputed continents.

23:00 CET

Johann Pocksteiner (AUT), Adrian Mikhalchishin (SLO) and Jean-Michel Rapaire (MNC) are elected as individual board members in ECU.

They are joining the members of Azmaiparashvili’s ticket – Mr. Finnbjørn Vang (FAI), Mr. Ion Serban Dobronauteanu (ROU), Mr. Theodoros Tsorbatzoglou (GRE), and Mr. Martin Huba (SLK), in the new board.

23:45 CET

Roberto Rivello (ITA), Kevin O’Connell (IRL), Jean-Claude Moingt (FRA) and Carl Fredrik Johansson (SWE) are elected ECU representatives in FIDE executive board.

12th August 18:45 CET

Lewis Ncube is the Continental President of Africa for the next four years. He won the heated elections process in Tromso today. A total of 40 members were entitled to vote, but 17 delegates possibly aware of the upcoming result, boycotted the meeting and left the hall before the voting.

The final result was 23-0 for Lewis Ncube.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top