Chess News

Corus Chess 2008 participants

Corus Wjik Aan Zee 2008 with a strong field

The Corus Wjik Aan Zee 2008 has formed 4 strong tournaments, each with solid field. The A group contains most of the top 20 players, the B and C groups are truly dedicated to yougn rising chess stars, and the Honorary group is promising a show.

Participants Corus 2008 A group

GM Viswanathan Anand IND
GM Vassily Ivanchuk UKR
GM Vladimir Kramnik RUS
GM Veselin Topalov BUL
GM Peter Leko HUN
GM Shakhryar Mamedyarov AZE

GM Teymour Radjabov AZE
GM Levon Aronian ARM
GM Boris Gelfand ISR
GM Michael Adams ENG
GM Magnus Carlsen NOR
GM Judit Polgar HUN
GM Pavel Eljanov UKR
GM Loek Van Wely NED

Participants Corus 2008 B group

GM Etienne Bacrot FRA
GM Gabriel Sargissian ARM
GM Ivan Cheparinov BUL
GM Sergey Movsesian SLK

GM Pentala Harikrishna IND
GM Michal Krasenkow POL
GM Nigel Short ENG
GM Daniel Stellwagen NED

GM Ian Nepomniachtchi RUS
GM Koneru Humpy IND
GM Erwin l’Ami NED
GM Jan Smeets NED
WGM Hou Yifan CHI
IM Wouter Spoelman NED

Participants Corus 2008 C group

GM Evgenij Miroshnichenko (Ukraine)
GM Fabiano Caruana (Italy)
GM Friso Nijboer (Netherlands)

IM Arik Braun (Germany)
GM Parimarjan Negi (India)
GM Dimitri Reinderman (Netherlands)

GM Efstratios Grivas (Greece)
GM John van der Wiel (Netherlands)
WGM Anna Ushenina (Ukraine)
GM Pontus Carlsson (Sweden)
WGM Irina Krush (USA)

GM Zhaoqin Peng (Netherlands)

IM Mark van der Werf (Netherlands)
Dennis Ruijgrok (Netherlands)

Honorary four-event match at Corus 2008

GM Viktor Kortchnoi 2611
GM Lajos Portisch 2530
GM Jan Timman 2559
GM Ljubomir Ljubojevic 2550

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top