Chess News

English teams for the European Championship announced

Michael Adams and Jovanka Houska on top boards

ETCC 2007 Press Office, 09-09-2007

The English Chess Federation was next to announce the teams that have been selected for the forthcoming European Team Championships. Mickey Adams is heading the men’s team while new-promoted GM Gawain Jones is making his debut in the national team. Former Lithuanian IM Dagne Ciuksyte is holding the 2nd board in women’s team, IM Jovanka Houska is regular on 1st.

Peter Sowray, the ECF’s International Director, emphasized that the European Team Chess Championship is the most important team competition this year. England previously won the gold medal in 1997 and bronze in 1980 and 1992.

Adams thinking 1

GM Michael Adams

The complete England men’s team:
1. GM Michael Adams (2724)
2. GM Nick Pert (2536)
3. GM Gawain Jones (2526)
4. GM Mark Hebden (2540)
5. GM Stuart Conquest (2546)
Captain – GM Peter Wells

The complete England women’s team:
1. IM Jovanka Houska (2401)
2. IM Dagne Ciuksyte (2426)
3. WIM Ingrid Lauterbach (2124)
4. WFM Sabrina Chevannes (2073)
5. WFM Meri Grigoryan-Lyell (2048)
Captain – GM John Emms

Official website of the European Team Chess Championships 2007

News and reports from the ETCC 2007

Chessdom is European Team Chess Championships 2007 official media partner

French teams

German teams

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top