Chess News

FIDE World Senior Chess Championships 2014

The 24th FIDE World Senior Chess Championships are scheduled to take place from 23rd October to 5th November at the conference center of the 5-star hotel “Mediterranean Village” in Katerini, Greece.

The World Senior Chess Championships are open to all players, regardless of rating and title, who have reached the age of 50 and represent National Chess Federations which are members of FIDE. There is no limit in the number of participants per federation.

In accordance with the FIDE tournament rules, the Championship will be played in two categories: one for those who shall have reached the age of 50 (category SENIOR 50+), and one for those who shall have reached the age of 65 (category SENIOR 65+) by December 31st of the year in which the tournament will commence.

In each age category an Open and a Women’s competition is organized.

Mediterranean Village Katerini

Mediterranean Village Katerini

Players with a personal right, according to FIDE regulations, will be accepted as guest players with free board and hotel accommodation.

The FIDE World Senior Chess Championships shall be played in 11 rounds following the Swiss System. Time control is 40 moves in 90 minutes and 30 minutes to the end of the game. Each player will also receive 30 seconds for each move played. Default time at the start of all rounds is 30 minutes.

The Women tournament is to be played separately if there are more than 10 participants in total from at least two continents. If there are less than 10 participants 65+ then will be only one women tournament 50+ with separate prizes. If in total the women participants are less than 10 or from less than 2 continents, they will play in the Open tournaments with separate prizes.

The title of “International Grandmaster (GM)” will be awarded to the two winners of the 2014 FIDE World Senior Chess Championships 50+ and 65+ who will also receive trophies and gold medals.

The second place will receive the silver medal and “International Master (IM)” title, while the third place will be awarded bronze medal and also “International Master (IM)” title.

The same applies for the respective Women titles if there is a separate event for Women with minimum 10 players from a minimum of 2 continents.

Total prize fund is 20.000 euros. Money prizes will be equally shared among players tied with the same score.

Transfers from the International Airport of Thessaloniki (IATA code: SKG) will be provided. Every player and accompanied person must send in time all flight details for arrival and departure (number of flight, date and time for arrival and departure).

Players who need visas are requested to contact the Organizing Committee before 5 September 2014 and apply on time to Greek Authorities. The Organizing Committee will provide letters for visas only after the necessary payments. The Organizing Committee has no responsibility for late or incomplete applications.

Tournament Director
IO Nikos Kalesis
Tel.: (+30) 6938326161, Fax: (+30) 2641500112

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top