Chess News

FM Harry Grieve claims Chessable British Chess Championship 2022

The Chessable British Chess Championship 2022 was held at the Riviera International Centre in Torquay from 8th to 21st August 2022. This was the 108th British Chess Championship in a series that has run almost unbroken since 1904, with Torquay having previously hosted the Championships on six occasions, most recently in 2019.

The 2022 Championship was the main event, sponsored by Chessable, and took place concurrently with the Major Open, Under 8, Under 10, Under 12, Under 14, and Under 16 events.

The 16th seed on the starting rank list, 21-year-old FM Harry Grieve, made a sensation at the Chessable British Chess Championship 2022, winning the event with unbeaten 7.5/9 points. Grieve earned 59 ELO points, his final IM norm and his first GM norm. GM Nicholas Pert clinched silver with 7 points, while IM James Jackson and IM David Eggleston tied for bronze with 6.5 points, each. Jackson had better tiebreaks to be in the third place on the final rankings.

FM Harry Grieve – Chessable British Chess Champion 2022; Photo by: Brendan O’Gorman

The Chessable English Women’s Chess Champion WIM Lan Yao added the title of the Chessable British Women’s Chess Champion 2022 to her collection as she came the best ranked female player of the event with 5/9 points. Kata Toma came second with 4.5 points and Sheila Jackson came third with 3.5 points. Scroll down for the final standings

WIM Lan Yao – Chessable British Women’s Chess Champion 2022; Photo by: Brendan O’Gorman

Final standings – Chessable British Chess Championship 2022:

Rk. NameFEDRtgTB1
1FMGrieve Harry ENG23907.5
2GMPert Nicholas ENG25377
3IMJackson James P ENG24066.5
 IMEggleston David J ENG23316.5
5GMGormally Daniel W ENG24666
 IMWadsworth Matthew J ENG24186
 GMArkell Keith C ENG24096
 FMClaridge-Hansen William ENG23456
 CMBalaji Aaravamudhan ENG21946
10GMEmms John M ENG24745.5
 IMClarke Brandon G I ENG24745.5
 IMKirk Ezra ENG24425.5
 GMDavies Nigel R ENG24255.5
 IMPert Richard G ENG24115.5
  Taylor Adam A ENG22045.5
16GMWard Chris G ENG24025
 FMWillow Jonah B ENG23935
 IMRudd Jack ENG23185
 FMMerriman John ENG22975
 WIMYao Lan ENG22745
 IMKolbus Dietmar IOM22725
 FMDishman Stephen ENG22485
 CMTurner Max N ENG22475
  Lentzos Ioanis GRE20975
25GMHebden Mark L ENG24764.5
 IMMilchev Nikolay BUL24084.5
 GMWells Peter K ENG23964.5
 IMLane Gary W AUS23284.5
 WGMToma Katarzyna ENG23034.5
  Domenech Vianney FRA22584.5
 IMBradbury Neil H ENG22114.5
 CMVilliers Thomas ENG21704.5
 FMStorey Charles H ENG21674.5
  Birtwistle Nigel ENG21514.5
  Pollack Oscar ENG20204.5
  Salmons Calum ENG19444.5
37FMRichardson John R ENG22964
 IMZapolskis Antanas LTU22664
  Stoyanov Viktor ENG22464
  Brewer Callum D ENG21594
  Okhai Shabir ENG21374
 FMEames Robert S ENG21124
  Burrows Martin P ENG20644
  Forster Matthew ENG20584
45FMDerakhshani Borna ENG23743.5
 FMWalker Martin G ENG21353.5
  Price Gwilym ENG21293.5
 WGMJackson Sheila ENG20703.5
  Ashworth Michael ENG20393.5
  Finn Peter ENG20333.5
51 Payne Matthew J ENG21553
  Horton Justin ENG20583
  Ethelontis Alexandros N ENG20553
  Donaldson Thomas ENG19823
55 Jones Steven A ENG22102.5
 FMWaddington Mike P ENG20662.5
  Mulay Partha ENG18222.5
58 Modi Shyam Jagdish ENG21482
  Rathbone-Jones Ifan WLS20062
60 Onslow Alfie ENG21111


Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top