Germany set for the Chess Olympiad in Tromsø

The German national captain GM Dorian Rogozenco has nominated the teams for the 41st Chess Olympiad in Tromsø, Norway.

The men’s team will consist of GM Arkadij Naiditsch (Elo 2706), GM Liviu-Dieter Nisipeanu (Elo 2686), GM Georg Meier (Elo 2636), GM Daniel Fridman (Elo 2616) and GM David Baramidze (Elo 2610).

In the women’s team are IM Elisabeth Pähtz (Elo 2440), WGM Tatjana Melamed (Elo 2389), WGM Zoya Schleining (Elo 2370), WGM Melanie Ohme (Elo 2347) and WGM Sarah Hoolt (Elo 2330).

GM Liviu-Dieter Nisipeanu is the newcomer in the team, having completed the transfer from the Romanian Chess Federation. Last year Nisipeanu helped the team as a coach. He stated that – “Playing for Germany is a dream that finally comes true! I am very excited”.

Michael Woltmann, Vizepräsident Verbandsentwicklung


German team that won gold medal in 2011 European Team Championship

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top