Chess News

Gibraltar Chess Festival 2012

The 2012 Tradewise Gibraltar Chess Festival is set to take place from 23rd January to 2nd February 2012 at the Caleta Hotel in Gibraltar. The main event of the Festival will be the 10-round Masters tournament from 24th January. Already 25 strong Grandmasters are signed to participate (list bellow).

In addition, there will be the 1st Amateurs and Challengers events from 23rd to 27th January, the 2nd Amateurs and Challengers from 28th January to 1st February, two evening blitz events and Master classes with elite players.

Prize money has been increased to an amazing £155,000. There is to be a further prize of £5,000 to celebrate the HM Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee – it will be awarded to the top scoring player from a Commonwealth country.

Top three prizes in Masters: £20,000 – £12,000 – £10,000;
Top three female awards: £10,000 – £7,000 – £5,000;
Top three prizes in Challengers: £2,000 – £1,250 – £750;
Top three prizes in Amateurs: £1,000 – £800 – £600.
Full prize list

Leading confirmed entries for the 2012 Tradewise Gibraltar Masters as of 1st October (September ratings listed):
Svidler Peter RUS 2740
Adams Michael ENG 2733
Vachier-Lagrave Maxime FRA 2715
Shirov Alexei ESP 2713
Almasi Zoltan HUN 2710
Polgar Judith HUN 2701
Short Nigel ENG 2698
Sutovsky Emil ISR 2690
Bruzon Batista Lazaro CUB 2682
Onischuk Alexander USA 2669
Bologan Victor MDA 2656
Fridman Daniel GER 2652
Gupta Abhijeet IND 2620
Edouard Romain FRA 2608
Robson Ray USA 2583
Yifan Hou CHN 2578
Kosintseva Nadezhda RUS 2560
Korchnoi Victor SUI 2556
Adhiban Baskaran IND 2551
Muzychuk Anna SLO 2545
Kosintseva Tatiana RUS 2536
Stefanova Antoaneta BUL 2528
Dzagnidze Nana GEO 2525
Zatonshih Anna USA 2508
Zhu Chen QAT 2490
Cramling Pia SWE 2489
Krush Irina USA 2472
Muzychuk Mariya UKR 2456
Houska Jovanka ENG 2427
Bellon Lopez Juan Manuel ESP 2420
Lund Silas DEN 2380
Georgiadis Nico SUI 2361
Schiendorfer Emanuel SUI 2340
Nuri Kambez SUI 2309
Chapman Terry P D ENG 2253
Rowe Duane c JAM 2236
Stone Andrew ENG 2234
Vaarala Eric SWE 2226
Toomas Valgmae EST 2208
Dolgova Olga wm RUS 2206
Spence David J ENG 2199
Taus Martin CZE 2178
Walton Alan J c ENG 2164
Hallerod Ralph SWE 2122
Freuler Roman SUI 2085
Hvenekilde Jorgen DEN 2075
Memarian Milad IRI 2057
Nilsson Lars Kjoller DEN 2036
Carlsten Peter SWE 2019
Knudsen Jes West DEN 1927
Zachariassen John DEN 1923
Henrichsen Jens DEN 1898
Randlov Carsten DEN 1845
Rough Robert E SCO 1752

The 2011 Gibraltar Masters was won by GM Vassily Ivanchuk.

More information on the official website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top