Chess bits

GM Bu Xiangzhi takes top prize in 2015 New Year Championship

Chinese Grandmaster Bu Xiangzhi emerged winner of the 2015 New Year Championship after conceding only one draw to conclude the event with 5,5/6 points, a full point ahead of the chasing pack.

The 2015 New Year Championship was held from 2-4th January at the SFO Airport Hyatt Regency in Burlingame, a city on the San Francisco Peninsula.

The playing format was 6-round Swiss and the projected prize fund was $18,000 (with 60% guaranteed).

Open section final standings:

1. GM Bu Xiangzhi CHN 2778 – 5,5
2-5. GM Batchuluun Tsegmed MGL 2509, IM Chen Wang CHN 2646, GM Parimarjan Negi IND 2743 and Emilio Fiora 2270 – 4,5
6-12. IM Andrey Gorovets BLR 2580, NM Michael Wang 2269, NM Ian David Schoch 2285, Alexis Roberto Ferrara 2163, Dana N Mackenzie 2182, IM Yang Shen CHN 2498 and Dale Hammer 2019 – 4,0
13-18. NM Xianglin Liu 2260, NM Hans Moke Niemann 2200, NM Colin Chow 2265, NM Michael Aigner 2256, Udit Iyengar 2177 and Chris Xiong 1928 – 3,5 etc

Bu Xiangzhi

Bu Xiangzhi

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top