GM Rafael Leitao tops Brazilian Individual Championship 2015

Rafael LeitaoThe Final Stage of the 81st Brazilian Individual Men’s Chess Championship 2015 took place from 17th to 25th January 2015 in Joao Pessoa, the easternmost city in the Americas and the capital of the state of Paraíba in Brazil.

The event was a 12-player round-robin tournament with an average Elo rating 2356 and tempo of play 90′ + 30″.

GM Rafael Leitao topped the event scoring 9,5/11 and leaving the runner-up, GM Felipe De Cresce El Debs, half a point behind.

GM Krikor Sevag Mekhitarian remained third with 7,5 points.

Leitao lift the trophy for eighth time after winning the Brazilian Individual Chess Championships 1996, 1997, 1998, 2004, 2011, 2013 and 2014. You can see the full standings and replay the games below.

Official website

Final standings:

1 GM Leitao Rafael BRA 2636 9,5
2 GM El Debs Felipe De Cresce BRA 2512 9
3 GM Mekhitarian Krikor Sevag BRA 2565 7,5
4 FM Mendonca Mateus Nakajo BRA 2426 7
5 FM Rodrigues Edgar BRA 2338 6
6 FM Umetsubo Cesar Hidemitsu BRA 2311 5,5
7 FM Cavalcanti Francisco De Assis BRA 2151 5
8 IM Macedo Maximo Iack BRA 2323 5
9 FM Reis Paulo F. Jatoba De Olivei BRA 2387 5
10 FM Brito Luismar BRA 2254 3,5
11 FM Andrade Roberto Luiz Costa BRA 2216 3
12 Fiaes Mario Henrique Andrade BRA 2151 0

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top