GM Ziaur Rahman leads 40th Berger Paints National ‘A’ Chess Championship of Bangladesh 2014

The 40th Berger Paints National ‘A’ Chess Championship 2014 is organised by Bangladesh Chess Federation and sponsored by Berger Paints Bangladesh Limited from 20th September 2014 to 10th October 2014 at the Media Center of Bangladesh Olympic Association in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh.

The event consists of 14 players, vying in a 13-day round-robin format. Renowned sports organizer of Bangladesh Mr. Mozaffar Hossain Paltu inaugurated the event. Ms. Reina Ashfin Khan, Manager-Market Research & Consumer Insight of Berger Bangladesh Limited, Mr. K M Shahidullah, Chairman Tournament Committee, Mr. Kazi Mofrad Muntasin, Brand Manager, Marketing of Berger Paints Bangladesh Limited and Ln. Mazibur Rahman Howladar, Secretary of Tournament Committee were present at the inauguration ceremony.

A press-briefing was held before the start of the event. Mr. Gazi Shayiful Tarique, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation briefed to the journalists regarding the Berger Paints National ‘A’ Chess Championship-2014.

14 players, including four GMs, one IM, four FMs and 2 CMs, are playing in a round-robin system.

GM Ziaur Rahman is a sole leader with 5,5/6 points, followed by GM Enamul Hossain (5 points) and GM Niaz Murshed (4,5 points). You can see the full standings below.

Live games with analysis

Chief guest Mr. Mozaffar Hossain Paltu inaugurating the event to make the first move

Chief guest Mr. Mozaffar Hossain Paltu inaugurating the event to make the first move

t0145714_mr. kazi mofrad muntasir , brand manager marketing of bpbl paints delevering address in press-briefing

GM Rahman Ziaur outplayed IM Minhazuddin Ahmed in the sixth round to maintain his victorious string (5 victories in a row)

GM Ziaur Rahman outplayed IM Ahmed Minhazuddin in the sixth round to maintain the lead scoring 5 victories in a row

Standings after 6 rounds:

1 GM Rahman Ziaur BAN 2507 5,5
2 GM Hossain Enamul BAN 2411 5
3 GM Murshed Niaz BAN 2460 4,5
4 Masum Hossain BAN 2130 4
5 FM Ahmed Sk. Nasir BAN 2280 4
6 GM Abdulla Al-Rakib BAN 2521 4
7 Uten BAN 2127 3,5
8 IM Minhazuddin Ahmed BAN 2422 3
9 FM Chatterjee Debaraj BAN 2261 2
10 FM Haque Rezaul BAN 2151 2
11 FM Islam Kh. Aminul BAN 2298 1,5
12 Bhuiyan Golam Mostafa BAN 2163 1,5
13 CM Chowdhury Sohel BAN 2163 1
14 CM Ahmed Mahtabuddin BAN 2127 0,5

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top