Chess News

Iceland Chess Championship 2012

The 2012 Iceland Chess Championship is organized by the Icelandic Chess Federation from 13th to 23rd April in Kópavogur.

Twelve players compete in the round robin tournament. There are four Grandmasters in the field and the average elo is 2398. Top seeded is the 10-times national champion Hannes Stefansson.

The last year champion GM Hedinn Steingrimsson will not be back to defend the title.

Players list:
GM Stefansson Hannes ISL 2531
GM Danielsen Henrik ISL 2504 (2009 Iceland champion and 2011 Iceland blitz champion)
GM Kristjansson Stefan ISL 2500
IM Thorfinnsson Bragi ISL 2421
IM Thorfinnsson Bjorn ISL 2416
GM Thorhallsson Throstur ISL 2398
FM Bjornsson Sigurbjorn ISL 2393
IM Arngrimsson Dagur ISL 2361
IM Kjartansson Gudmundur ISL 2357
Gislason Gudmundur ISL 2346
FM Kjartansson David ISL 2305
Jensson Einar Hjalti ISL 2245

Official website

Kjartansson Gudmundur

IM Gudmundur Kjartansson

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top