IM Michael Brooks Wins Iowa Open

IM Michael Brooks - FM Awonder Liang

IM Michael Brooks – FM Awonder Liang

IM Michael Brooks of Missouri went 5-0 to win the 59th edition of the Iowa Open held August 24-25 in Coralville, Iowa.

Report by Mark Capron

FM Liang (WI), IM Angelo Young (IL), Petros Karagianis (IL), Robert Keating (IA), and Ziwen Zhou (IA) all scored 4 and tied for second in the 61 player Open section.

IM Brooks had to beat Iowa Co-Champ Byambatsogt Tumurkhuu, FM Liang, and newcomer Valeriy Kosokin (2273 FIDE, UNR USCF) on his way to the championship.

IM Young gave up a draw against Iowa Co-Champ Dan Brashaw which left Young needing a win in the last round to get to second.

Young Ziwen Zhou (1894) had the potentially the best tournament. Zhou drew expert Troy Zimmerman (WI), upset 1951 rated David Scott (MO), upset master Tim McEntee (IA), upset expert Byambatsogt Tumurkhuu, and drew Petros Karagianis in the last round. This gave Zhou a performance rating of 2363 for the tournament.

Ty Williams (MO) had the largest upset in the tournament when he beat a player rated 803 rating points higher. This tournament has consistently drawn players from out of state including this year where 22 out of the 61 were from out of state.

On Friday evening prior to the tournament the Iowa Quick Chess Championship was held. 33 players competed in the 6 round event including IM Brooks and IM Young. This time IM Young was pronounced the champion. Iowa Co-Champ Dan Brashaw had a promising position against Young, but could not convert. IM Brooks got knocked off by Byambatsogt Tumurkhuu, then could only get a draw vs. IM Young in the last round. Tumurkhuu and Petros Karagianis tied for second.

Concurrently with the 59th Iowa Open the Iowa State Reserve Championship and a Rated Beginner’s Open were held. The Iowa Reserve (U1600) had 38 players and Co-champions, Steve Jacobs (IA) and Tim Carson (IA). The 59 player Rated Beginner’s Open ended in a 3 way tie: Daniel Song (IA), Yegor Kuznetsov (IA) and Kevin Lu each scored 4.5/5.

The 4 sections were directed by the team of Bill Feldman (IL) RBO Section Chief, Eric Vigil (IA) Chief Assistant, William Broich (IA) Open Section Chief, and Mark Capron (IA) Chief TD, Reserve Section Chief, and Tournament Organizer.

In all sections combined there were 191 entries. The goal is to continue to grow this tournament and increase the number of titled players over the next few years.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top