India Women’s Chess Championship – Varshini Holds Pratyusha In Round 4

Bodda Pratyusha’s winning spree was halted by V Varshini in the fourth round of the Ramratna National Women’s Chess Championship that is taking place at Kolkata.

Varshini went for a big king side offensive against Pratyusha’s Sicilian defence. Pratyusha won three pieces for the queen. Varshini repeated the position with her queen and drew in 52 moves.

Pune stars, Soumya Swaminathan and Swati Ghate won their games to maintain the top position with 3.5 points from four games. A rook sacrifice fetched Soumya a pawn and in the end she won a long queen and rook ending after 60 moves against Bhakti Kulkarni.

Varshini Holds Pratyusha In Round 4

Former champion Swati Ghate beat Vaishali in 46 moves by winning a cornered bishop to stay in joint lead.

Defending champion Padmini Rout won in 17-moves against Neha Singh to move to 2.5 points.

Priyanka sacrificed a knight to get a perpetual check draw against Michelle Catherina. Seven rounds remain to be played in this 12-player event.

The results (round four): Nuttaki Priyanka (AP) drew with P Michelle Catherina (TN); Padmini Rout (Odi) bt Neha Singh (Bih); V Varshini (TN) drew with B Pratyusha (AP); Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB) bt Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa); Swati Ghate (LIC) bt R Vaishali (TN); Tania Sachdev (AI) bt Priyanka K (TN).

Standings after round four: 1-2. Swati Ghate 3.5/4 each; 3 B Pratyusha 2.5/3; 4 Padmini Rout 2.5/4; 5 Michelle Catherina 2/3; 6-7. Tania Sachdev, Nutakki Priyanka 2/4 each; 8 V Varshini 1.5/3; 9 Bhakti Kulkarni 1.5/4; 10 R Vaishali 0.5/3; 11 Priyanka K 0.5/4; 12 Neha Singh 0/4.

By Arvind Aaron

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top