Chess bits

Irish teams for 2016 Chess Olympiad

Irish Chess UnionThe Irish teams for the upcoming Chess Olympiad in Baku have been finalised.

The Men’s (Open) team is as follows:
Alexander Baburin, Mark Heidenfeld, Stephen Jessel, Conor O’Donnell and Colm Daly.

The Women’s team is as follows:
Diana Mirza, Alice O’Gorman, Poornima J.Menon, Karina Kruk, and Gearodin Ui Laighleis.

ICU website

Excerpt from the comment on unofficial news website within Irish Chess:

The loss of and presumably lack of much interest, by so many in the men’s team is worrying and indicative of a broader malaise. As while it is very good to see two players deservedly make their Olympiad debuts in the persons of Stephen Jessel and Connor O Donnell, the inability to have attracted and insured the participation of Sam Collins, Alex Lopez and David Fitzsimons perhaps speaks volumes for the current value and prestige of representing Ireland at an Olympiad and being away for two weeks to do so.

In the case of the women’s team, there is almost no change, with just one new welcome addition in the person of Alice O’Gorman who has been a keen and improving player for some time. However the main attraction and value for the women’s team seems to be little or nothing to do with chess and more that is all about the social and fun side of things.

This seems to be further indicated by the astounding choice and process that has now seen Pippa O’Gorman, the mother of the newest member of the women’s team offered the position of women’s team captain.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top