Krishnan Sasikiran is Champion of India

Grandmaster Krishnan Sasikiran became the new Champion of India after winning the Bhavarlal and Kantabai Jain 51st National Premier Chess Championship that was held on 17-30th December in Jalgoan.

Sasikiran concluded the tournament in style, by defeating IM Shyam Nikil for the total score of 10,5/13 points.

Sasikiran’s nearest followers GM Adhiban and GM Lalith Babu were also victorious in the last round to finish the event with 10,0 and 9,5 points respectively.

Krishnan Sasikiran

Krishnan Sasikiran

The Championship was organized by the Jalgoan District Chess Association & Jain Sports Academy. The playing format returned to the round robin with 14 players.

Final standings:

1. GM Sasikiran Krishnan 2666 – 10,5
2. GM Adhiban B. 2569 – 10,0
3. GM Lalith Babu M.R. 2569 – 9,5
4. IM Thejkumar M. S. 2452 – 8,0
5-6. IM Ashwin Jayaram 2487 and GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 2462 – 7,0
7-9. IM Debashis Das 2507, IM Stany G.A. 2397 and GM Vishnu Prasanna. V 2523 – 5,5
10-11. GM Negi Parimarjan 2671 and IM Shyam Nikil P. 2420 – 5,0
12. IM Akshat Khamparia 2409 – 4,5
13-14. IM Rathnakaran K. 2411 and IM G. Akash 2343 – 4,0

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top