Magnus Carlsen wins Gashimov Memorial 2015 (Video)

World Champion Magnus Carlsen has won the Gashimov Memorial for the second year running after concluding the event with 7 points from nine games.

In the final round Carlsen defeated Rauf Mamedov, leaving the second placed Viswanathan Anand a full point behind. The remaining four games were drawn.

The 2nd Vugar Gashimov Memorial was held on 16-25th April, 2015, in Shamkir, Azerbaijan.

Round 9 results:

GM Mamedyarov Shakhriyar – GM Adams Michael 1/2-1/2
GM Caruana Fabiano – GM Anand Viswanathan 1/2-1/2
GM Carlsen Magnus – GM Mamedov Rauf 1-0
GM Giri Anish – GM Kramnik Vladimir 1/2-1/2
GM Vachier-Lagrave Maxime – GM So Wesley 1/2-1/2

Final standings:

1. GM Magnus Carlsen NOR 2863 – 7,0
2. GM Viswanathan Anand IND 2791 – 6,0
3-4. GM Fabiano Caruana ITA 2802 and GM Wesley So USA 2788 – 5,0
5-6. GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov AZE 2754 and GM Vladimir Kramnik RUS 2783 – 4,0
7-10. GM Anish Giri NED 2790, GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave FRA 2762, GM Rauf Mamedov AZE 2651 and GM Michael Adams ENG 2746 – 3,5

Games with analysis

Vijay Kumar presents the round nine video

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top