Chess bits

Margaret Murphy is ELE Chairperson for Tromso 2014

fide logoExtraordinary FIDE General Assembly was called for 9th October 2013 solely to elect Chairman of the ELE for the Tromso General Assembly 2014.

The FIDE Secretariat received four candidates for the position of the ELE Chairman within the deadline, two of whom resigned before the start of the General Assembly.

The existing members of the ELE (Ms. A. Santens, Mr. G. Borg and Mr. P. Klerides) were approved as Scrutineers, with one objection.

Ms. Margaret Murphy, President of the US Virgin Islands Chess Federation, was unanimously elected as ELE Chairman for Tromso 2014 after Mr. Tomasz Sielicki, delegate of Polish Chess Federation, withdrew his candidacy.

The Chairman of the temporary ELE, A. Santens presented proposed clarifications to the Statutes regarding the election process. Further clarifications were then sought and the EGA unanimously approved the document with two amendments.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top