Chess News

MPL Indian Chess Tour 2022 – Leg 2

The second leg of the MPL Indian Chess Tour 2022 will be played from 2-5 June on

18-year-old Arjun Erigaisi won the 1st leg of the tour and tops the second event together with Gukesh D and Nihal Sarin. The winner of each MPL tournament will receive an invitation to the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour and an opportunity to play against the world’s best chess players including World Chess Champion and highest rated player of all time, Magnus Carlsen. The Winners also qualify for a knockout final with a $10,000 top prize. All information about the 2022 MPL Indian Chess Tour can be found here

The format of each of the four legs is a 16-player all-play-all tournament, with games played on chess24 with a time control of 15 minutes for all moves and a 10-second increment each move. There are 3 points, and $150, for every win. will provide daily live coverage of the event.

Starting rank list of participants – MPL Indian Chess Tour 2022 – Leg 2:

1Arjun Erigaisi2675
2Gukesh D2659
3Nihal Sarin2646
4Raunak Sadhwani2619
5Surya Shekhar Ganguly2616
6Murali Karthikeyan2613
7Abhimanyu Puranik2608
8Abhijeet Gupta2606
9Aravindh Chithambaram2606
10Leon Luke Mendonca2551
11Harsha Bharathakoti2547
12Diptayan Ghosh2538
13Visakh NR2506
14Mitrabha Guha2500
15Vantika Agrawal2371 (MPL Wildcard)
16Aradhya Garg2275 (MPL Wildcard)

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top