Chess News

Chess Classic Mainz – End of an Era after 17 editions

Cost-benefit analysis requires clear statement for Mainz

A decade full of dedication and passion for international rapid chess has come to an end in Mainz. A splendid decade from 2001 to 2010 with ground-breaking innovations in tournament organization for world class players and amateurs alike and the “Mainz System” Chess960, based on the ideas of the American World Champion Robert James “Bobby” Fischer, made the distinction between the Chess Classic and other classical tournaments. Speed and entertainment, service and amenities for the spectators and participants were the ingredients of a unique merger that took place once a year between the 2000-year old royal game and the ancient city of Mainz. The main goal of the organizers back in 1994 was to connect the small world of chess with everyday society. Explaining the complex game of chess to a bigger audience, for chess amateurs and laymen with the use of modern technology was the next step, which was thoroughly and systematically implemented in the event. This yearly meeting place for chess players was highly appreciated by professionals and amateurs and the Chess Classic became a nationally and internationally renowned event, without a doubt one of the highlights on the international chess calendar. The clarity and reliability of the annual world championships in rapid chess and Chess960 and the clear qualification rules in the open tournaments was appreciated by everyone – over the years the organizers had created their own brand. The Chess Classic atmosphere with the spacious Rheingoldhalle, Congress Centre and Hilton Mainz, on the banks of the river Rhine, but still in the centre of the city Mainz was perfect and unparalleled for a top-class and mass sports event.

Chess Classics Mainz

If all the conditions in Mainz are perfect: why on earth will there be no next tournament, numerous friends of the Chess Classic are bound to ask? And it is a justified question. Maybe the answer of Vladimir Kramnik back in 2001, who was chess world champion at that time after his heroic win over Gary Kasparov, comes closest to the truth. During the Champions Dinner, one of the main sponsors of the event asked him: “How important is this first and unique match with the Fide world champion Viswanathan Anand from India, here in Mainz?” The answer was: “Not so important, this is just a rapid chess match”.

The city of Mainz, its Lord Mayor Jens Beutel and the Chess Tigers e.V. with its chairman Hans-Walter Schmitt would like to thank the long-time sponsors, players and spectators, the international journalists and many volunteers in this seventeen breathtakingly years that rushed past. We have shaped and organized the event seven years in Frankfurt, followed up by ten years in Mainz with inspiration and expertise. We have put our heart and passion into the Chess Classic. There is a quote by the Austrian dramatist and novelist Arthur Schnitzler, which says it all: “Am Ende gilt doch nur, was wir getan und gelebt – und nicht, was wir ersehnt haben.“ (“In the End, all that matters is what we have done and lived – not what we have longed for”)

Chess Classics Mainz

We would like to apologize to our Chess960 world champion Alexandra Kosteniuk, Chess960 world champion Hikaru Nakamura and his challenger Alexander Grishuk, the current GrenkeLeasing world champion Gata Kamsky, the 11-time winner Viswanathan Anand and the numerous friends of the Chess Classic, because there will be no title matches in 2011. However, should a “white knight” show up, who wants to grant the Chess Classic a secure financial future, the Chess Tigers are ready to go!

Chess Tigers e.V

Chairman Hans-Walter Schmitt

Chess Classics Mainz

Chess Classic Championship

1996 Alexei Shirov
1997 Viswanathan Anand
1998 Viswanathan Anand
1999 Garry Kasparov
2000 Viswanathan Anand
2001 Viswanathan Anand
2002 Viswanathan Anand
2003 Viswanathan Anand
2004 Viswanathan Anand
2005 Viswanathan Anand
2006 Viswanathan Anand
2007 Viswanathan Anand
2008 Viswanathan Anand
2009 Levon Aronian
2010 Gata Kamsky

Rapid Chess Open

1994 Alexander Chernin
1995 Bogdan Lalic
1996 Eric Lobron
1997 Waleri Beim
1998 Fritz on Primergy
1999 Loek van Wely
2000 Sergei Rublevski
2001 Michael Adams
2002 Viktor Bologan
2003 Alexander Grischuk
2004 Alexander Grischuk
2005 Teimour Radjabov
2006 Rustam Kasimdzhanov
2007 David Navara
2008 Ian Nepomniachtchi
2009 Shakhriyar Mamedyarov
2010 Gata Kamsky

Simuls (40 Players)

08.07.94 Viswanathan Anand
09.07.94 Viswanathan Anand
30.06.95 Vladimir Kramnik
17.11.95 Viswanathan Anand
29.06.96 Vladimir Kramnik
28.06.97 Veselin Topalov
20.06.98 Peter Leko
04.07.99 Judit Polgar
19.6.2000 Garry Kasparov
20.6.2000 Vassily Ivanchuk
21.06.01 Viswanathan Anand
22.06.01 Vladimir Kramnik
14.08.02 Ruslan Ponomariov
4.8.2004 Alexei Shirov
10.08.05 Alexander Grischuk
15.08.06 Viswanathan Anand
13.8.2007 Vassily Ivanchuk
28.07.08 Viswanathan Anand
27.07.09 Levon Aronian
06.08.10 Viswanathan Anand

Simuls (25 Players)

14.08.02 Alexandra Kosteniuk

Matches Man vs. Machine

1998 Viswanathan Anand
1999 Viswanathan Anand

2000 Vladimir Kramnik
2000 Fritz on Primergy
2000 Peter Leko
2000 Fritz on Primergy

2000 Alexei Shirov

Chess960 Rapid Chess World Championship

2001 Peter Leko
2003 Peter Svidler

2004 Peter Svidler
2005 Peter Svidler
2006 Levon Aronian
2007 Levon Aronian
2009 Hikaru Nakamura

Chess960 Rapid Chess World Championship Women

2006 Alexandra Kosteniuk
2008 Alexandra Kosteniuk

Chess960 Senior Rapid Chess World Championship

2006 Vlastimil Hort

Chess960 Junior Rapid Chess World Championship

2006 Pentala Harikrishna

Open Chess960

2002 Peter Svidler
2003 Levon Aronian
2004 Zoltan Almasi
2005 Levon Aronian
2006 Etienne Bacrot
2007 Victor Bologan
2008 Hikaru Nakamura
2009 Alexander Grischuk

Chess960 Simuls (20 Players)

13.08.03 Peter Leko 2746
13.08.03 Peter Svidler 2744
04.08.04 Peter Svidler 2755
16.08.06 Levon Aronian 2752
06.08.10 Alexandra Kosteniuk 2504

Chess960 Matches Man vs. Machine

2000 Fritz on Primergy
2004 Levon Aronian
2005 Shredder
2005 Peter Svidler
2006 Spike
2006 Shredder

Chess960 Computer World Championship

2005 Spike / Bahm/Sch?fer
2006 Shredder / Mayer-Kahlen
2007 Rybka / Rajlich
2008 Rybka / Rajlich
2009 Rybka / Rajlich

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top