Chess News

Politiken Cup 2008 with the strongest participation ever

many top GMs to participate in one of the largest chess festivals in Europe

Politiken 9

Politiken Cup is breaking the records for a second consecutive year and is proving to be one of the major events of chess in Europe. A month before the competition starts more than 150 players have already signed up. Not only the number is record high for the competition, but the participation is the strongest ever.

Top seeded will be GM Pavel Eljanov, currently rated 2715 according to the live top list of our friend Hans Arild. He will be joined by the previous winners of the festival – GM Vladimir Malakhov and GM Michal Krasenkow. GM Michael Roiz will come from Israel and will try to break the 2700 barrier with the participation at the festival. GM Peter Heine Nielsen, GM Sergey Tiviakov, GM Boris Savchenko, GM Jacob Aagaard, and many more strong players (check the list below) will participate as well.

Politiken Cup 2008 is going to be the most international edition of the competition ever. Until now players from numerous countries have signed up – Denmark, Ukraine, Israel, Russia, Holland, Poland, Georgia, Sweden, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Scotland, India, Switzerland, and Cuba are only a few to mention.

Politiken Cup 2008 will also act as the 30th Copenhagen Open. It will take place 19th-27th July. The main tournament is open for everyone and will be played over 10 rounds of FIDE Swiss, with time control 40 moves in 100 minutes plus 30 minutes after move 40 plus 30 seconds increment starting from move one. If you want to participate, now is the time to contact the organizers at the official website. will be media partner of Politiken Cup for a second consecutive year. Expect many interviews, photos, commented games, and news from the festival.

List of participants

1. GM Pavel Eljanov
2. GM Vladimir Malakhov
3. GM Michael Roiz
4. GM Peter Heine Nielsen
5. GM Sergey Tiviakov
6. GM Michal Krasenkow
7. GM Bartosz Socko
8. GM Mikheil Mchedlishvili
9. GM Konstantin Landa
10. GM Yurij Kuzubov
11. GM Alexei Fedorov
12. GM Vitali Golod
13. GM Artur Kogan
14. GM Boris Savchenko

15. GM Alexei Iljushin
16. GM Alexander A. Evdokimov
17. GM Sune Berg Hansen
18. GM Jacob Aagaard
19. GM Jonny Hector
20. GM Lars Schandorff
21. WGM Monika Socko
22. GM David S. Markosian
23. GM Tiger Hillarp-Persson
24. IM Sabino Brunello
25. WGM Viktorija Cmilyte
26. GM Stellan Brynell
27. IM Baris Esen
28. IM Ashwin Jayaram
29. FM Krzysztof Bulski
30. IM Oliver Kurmann
31. IM Torbjørn Ringdal Hansen

32. FM Heini Olsen
33. IM Olivier Moor
34. IM Vladimir Eljanov
35. FM Johandry Gonzalez Espin
36. GM Arkadi Eremeevich Vul
37. IM Peter Marusenko

Total sign ups until now: 150 participants

Politiken 15

IM John Ludvig Hammer vs GM Jonny Hector at Politiken Cup

ETCC 2007 D1PG 11

Many players from Iatly and The Netherlands will come as well

ETCC 2007 Arrival Day 02

One more of the participants – GM Michael Roiz talking to the Chessdom editor-in-chief Goran Urosevic

ETCC 2007 Round 8 06

GM Peter Heine Nielsen will be the top rated local player

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top