Chess News

Nominations for Gligoric Trophy 2021

The award named after Serbian grandmaster Svetozar Gligoric was established by FIDE in 2012. FIDE General Assembly in 2012 has accepted the proposal of the Serbian Chess Federation to establish the award for fair play which would be named after the legendary Svetozar Gligoric who passed away earlier that year. The FIDE Presidental Board decided to reestablish the award setting the clear nomination process in 2019.

In the 1950s and 1960s, Svetozar Gligoric was one of the top players in the world and one of the World’s most prominent, owing to his particularly engaging personality. At the chessboard, Gligoric was an uncompromising fighter and at the same time a symbol of gentlemanhood and correctness. His impeccable reputation has been a deserved result of his success in chess games and fair-play manners. Gligoric’s trademark was high respect to his chess opponents: his main principle was – It’s chess pieces, not a man I play against! It is no coincidence that the book of Gligoric’s selected games is called “I play against pieces!”. (scroll down for the full article)

The spirit of the “Fair Play Svetozar Gligoric Trophy” is to give recognition to an individual who, during the previous year, had displayed exemplary behavior that promotes the spirit of fair play and sportsmanship in chess. 

Candidates to win the Svetozar Gligoric Trophy 2021 shall have demonstrated during the period January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021, the following accomplishments: 

  • Outstanding gesture or action of sportsmanship during the sports event.
  • Outstanding contribution to the popularization of the values and principles of Fair Play.
  • Outstanding support towards initiatives on enforcement of ethical values.
  • Promotion of integrity and high ethical standards.

The Svetozar Gligoric Trophy is a recognition of sportsmen who exercise the fundamental values of Fair Play both during and beyond the game. It’s a way of thinking rather than a mere behavior and includes the concepts of:

  • Fairness
    To enjoy the victory is not enough. Triumph must include fairness and honesty
  • Respect
    Written rules are mandatory. Unwritten rules of respect for all are obligatory
  • Friendship
    Rivalry in sports does not exclude friendship
  • Team Spirit
    A genuine consideration for others
  • Equality
    Competing on equal terms is essential
  • Tolerance
    The ability or willingness to accept what you may not agree with
  • Care
    True champions care about each other

Nomination Procedure:

The winner of the Gligoric Trophy is selected annually by the Award Commission chaired by Mr. Mahir Mammedov and its two members, the Grandmasters Mrs. Judit Polgar (FIDE Honorary Vice-President) and Mr. Eugenio Torre. Proposals for Nominations (Nomination Letter) shall be submitted by Continental Federations, National Federations, and FIDE Commissions to the Gligoric Trophy Award Commission ( no later than June 15, 2022. 
Nominations coming from individuals, including self-nominations, are also allowed, but they should be channeled through the Federation associated with the nominee.

The first recipient of this award was Magnus Carlsen, who was awarded his Trophy during the FIDE World Cup in Sochi, 2021.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top