Chess News

Open Agusta Aragón Stadium Casablanca – Round Seven

The 5th Open Agusta Aragón Stadium Casablanca is taking place from 23rd to 31st December at the Stadium Casablanca in Zaragoza, Spain. The 9-round Swiss event features a prize fund of 8000 EUR with 2000 EUR dedicated to the winner.

155 players are competing and among them are seven Grandmasters. Top rated is the world-class GM Kiril Georgiev. The 17-years old IM Daniel Forcen Esteban returns to defend the last year’s title.

The leading players GM Oleg Korneev and GM Arthur Kogan signed a draw on the top table in the 7th round and are now joined by GM Kiril Georgiev and GM Azer Mirzoev, who were both victorious, and IM Fabrizio Bellia who earned a point after GM Zenon Franco forfeited the game.

Zaragoza playing hall

The playing hall

Round 7 standings:
1-5. GM Korneev Oleg RUS 2608, GM Georgiev Kiril BUL 2666, GM Kogan Artur ISR 2572, GM Mirzoev Azer AZE 2510 and IM Bellia Fabrizio ITA 2418 – 6.0
6-11. IM Garza Marco Sergio ESP 2394, FM Gonzalez Perez Arian CUB 2474, GM Cifuentes Parada Roberto ESP 2523, IM Forcen Esteban Daniel ESP 2410, IM Perez Mitjans Orelvis ESP 2457 and GM Paunovic Dragan SRB 2528 – 5.5
12-24. GM Franco Ocampos Zenon PAR 2505, IM Antoli Royo Joaquin Miguel ESP 2410, FM Lopez Gracia Fernando ESP 2336, FM Ramiro Ovejero Juan Luis ESP 2303, WIM Hernandez Estevez Yudania ESP 2284, IM Vassallo Barroche Mauricio ESP 2429, Iagar Razvan-Gabriel ROU 2170, IM Glavina Pablo ARG, Sgnaolin Davide ITA 2242, Lamas Mercadal Manuel ESP 2202, Villuendas Valero Adrian ESP 2267, Iturbide Arnedo Oscar ESP 2117 and Castillo Sanjuan Alejandro ESP 2037 – 5.0 etc

Round 8 top pairings:
GM Georgiev Kiril 2666 – GM Korneev Oleg 2608
GM Kogan Artur 2572 – GM Mirzoev Azer 2510
IM Bellia Fabrizio 2418 – GM Paunovic Dragan 2528
GM Cifuentes Parada Roberto 2523 – FM Gonzalez Perez Arian 2474
IM Garza Marco Sergio 2394 – IM Perez Mitjans Orelvis 2457
IM Forcen Esteban Daniel 2410 – GM Franco Ocampos Zenon 2505
IM Glavina Pablo 2468 – Villuendas Valero Adrian 2267
IM Vassallo Barroche Mauricio 2429 – Lamas Mercadal Manuel 2202
IM Antoli Royo Joaquin Miguel 2410 – Sgnaolin Davide 2242
FM Lopez Gracia Fernando 2336 – Castillo Sanjuan Alejandro 2037

Follow the results and updates on the tournament website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top