Padmini Rout retains title in Indian Premier Women Championship

Woman Grandmaster Padmini RoutThe Ramratna 42nd Indian National Premier Women Chess Championship was organized by the Bengal Chess Federation from November 13th through November 24th, 2015, at Bengal Gallery in Kolkota, India.

The event was a 12 player single round-robin tournament with an average Elo rating of 2219.

IM Rout Padmini secured the title with 8.5/11 points, leaving the nearest followers a full point behind. She repeated the success from last year when she won the Championship in Sangli.

WGM Swaminathan Soumya, WGM Bhakti Kulkarni and WGM Ghate Swati tied for the second place at 7.5 points each but Soumya clinched the silver on a better tie-break criteria, while Kulkarni remained third.

Final standings:

1. IM Padmini Rout IND 2437 – 8.5
2-4. WGM Soumya Swaminathan IND 2341, WGM Kulkarni Bhakti IND 2257 and WGM Swati Ghate IND 2230 – 7.5
5-6. WIM Pratyusha Bodda IND 2248 and WFM Vaishali R IND 2298 – 6.5
7. IM Tania Sachdev IND 2385 – 5
8-9. WIM Michelle Catherina P IND 2242 and Priyanka Nutakki IND 1994 – 4.5
10. WFM Varshini V IND 2163 – 4
11. Priyanka K IND 2011 – 3
12. Singh Neha IND 2024 – 1

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top