Chess News

Parsvnath International Open – Paragua joins Barbosa and Gomez at top

Filipino Grandmaster Mark Paragua defeated Indian International Master Debashis Das in the ninth round to join countrymen Oliver Barbosa and Gomez John Paul to share the lead with seven and half points in the ongoing 10th Parsvnath International Grandmasters Chess Tournament at Ludlow Castle Sports Complex on Saturday.

Playing with white pieces in Semi-Slav variation, Paragua showed sheer attacking game with three continues piece sacrifices in the middle of game to garner full point against his Indian rival in 36 moves.

Kolkata based Diptayan Ghosh achieved his first International Master norm after signing the peace with World Under-12 Gold medalist Karthikeyan Murali in the ninth round while Zeng Chongsheng of China lost his ninth round encounter against Indian International Master Lalith Babu but secured his International Master norm during the process.

GM Mark Paragua of Philippines

GM Mark Paragua of Philippines

Diptayan Ghosh

Diptayan Ghosh

In other important ninth round matches, overnight joint leaders Oliver Barbosa and Gomez John Paul settled for half point against Russian Grandmaster Evgeny Gleizerov and International Master Shyam Nikil respectively to maintain their pole position in the point table.

In a major upset in the ninth round, playing with black pieces in Najdorf variation of Sicilian defence game, Delhi youngster Hemant Sharma shocked Uzbek Grandmaster Marat Dzhumaev.

Eleven players including International Master Rathnkaran K, who held higher seeded Grandmaster Andrei Deviatkin of Russia in the ninth round, are closely following the three leaders with a drift of half point.

Hemant Sharma

Hemant Sharma

Vaibhav Suri

Vaibhav Suri

Round 9 standings:

1-3. GM Gomez John Paul PHI 2506, GM Barbosa Oliver PHI 2573 and GM Paragua Mark PHI 2522 – 7.5

4-14. GM Deviatkin Andrei RUS 2574, IM Rathnakaran K IND 2403, IM Vaibhav Suri IND 2448, IM Lalith Babu M R IND 2484, IM Vishnu Prasanna V IND 2392, IM Shyam Nikil P IND 2482, GM Gleizerov Evgeny RUS 2566, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J IND 2495, IM Kuderinov Kirill KAZ 2497, IM Nitin S IND 2399 and Ma Qun CHN 2475 – 7.0

15-25. GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2548, GM Sandipan Chanda IND 2628, GM Kravtsiv Martyn UKR 2602, IM Debashis Das IND 2389, IM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi IND 2513, Hemant Sharma IND 2262, GM Neelotpal Das IND 2471, IM Saptarshi Roy IND 2378, IM Swapnil S Dhopade IND 2435, IM Koshy Varugeese IND 2276 and GM Oleksienko Mikhailo UKR 2563 – 6.5

26-59. Zeng Chongsheng CHN 2400, IM Ashwin Jayaram IND 2472, IM Thejkumar M S IND 2455, FM Ghosh Diptayan IND 2372, GM Danielsen Henrik ISL 2536, Shreyans K Shah IND 2218, Narayanan S L IND 2320, Kathmale Sameer IND 2207, Anurag Mhamal IND 2240, IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh R IND 2357, GM Ulibin Mikhail RUS 2587, IM Anwesh Upadhyaya IND 2413, GM Laxman R R IND 2434, Karthikeyan Murali IND 2225, IM Shivananda B S IND 2375, IM Karthikeyan P IND 2402, Saravana Krishnan P IND 2313, IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy IND 2344, Mugil Jayavel IND 2065, FM Gagare Shardul IND 2268, IM Himanshu Sharma IND 2408, IM Murali Krishnan B T IND 2366, CM Prince Bajaj IND 2222, Abhishek Das IND 2354, IM Praveen Kumar C IND 2338, Surendran N IND 2209, Mu Ke CHN 2294, Visakh Nr IND 2046, Pradeep Kumar R A IND 2268, IM Ravichandran Siddharth IND 2398, IM Palit Somak IND 2399, IM Hegde Ravi Gopal IND 2211, FM Shrestha Sujendra Prasad NEP 2052, FM Prasenjit Datta IND 2274 – 6.0 etc

Round 10 top pairings:

GM Barbosa Oliver 2573 – GM Paragua Mark 2522
GM Gomez John Paul 2506 – GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J 2495
GM Deviatkin Andrei 2574 – Ma Qun 2475
GM Gleizerov Evgeny 2566 – IM Vaibhav Suri 2448
IM Kuderinov Kirill 2497 – IM Rathnakaran K 2403
IM Lalith Babu M R 2484 – IM Vishnu Prasanna V 2392
IM Nitin S 2399 – IM Shyam Nikil P 2482
GM Sandipan Chanda 2628 – GM Neelotpal Das 2471
IM Swapnil S Dhopade 2435 – GM Kravtsiv Martyn 2602
IM Debashis Das 2389 – GM Oleksienko Mikhailo 2563
GM Kunte Abhijit 2548 – IM Koshy Varugeese 2276
IM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 2513 – IM Saptarshi Roy 2378

Official website

MS Gopakumar
International Arbiter
Press Officer, 10th Parsvnath International Open

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top