Chess News

Polish Chess Championships 2022 kicked off in Kruszwica

The 79th LOTTO Polish Championship and the 74th Polish Women’s Chess Championship kicked off yesterday in Kruszwica. The events are simultaneously played from 9-17 May 2022.

The Men’s Championship is a 16-player knockout tournament with two classical games in each match, followed, if necessary, by two rapid games, then two blitz games, then Armageddon. The top seeds are: defending National Champion of Poland – Radoslaw Wojtaszek, Bartosz Socko, and Kacper Piorun. Throwback: Polish Chess Championships 2021 / Wojtaszek and Kulon win Polish Chess Championships 2021

Pairing tree:

The PGNiG TERMIKA Polish Women’s Chess Championship 2022 is a 10-player round-robin event with the time control of: 90 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes to the end of the game, with a 30-second increment from move 1. The battlefield is led by Jolanta Zawadzka, Karina Cyfka and Monika Socko.

The crosstable:

During the Opening ceremony of the event, the Polish Chess Federation distributed the Year awards for best chess workers:
Player of the Year – Jan-Krzysztof Duda
Contestant of the Year – Olivia Sausage
Coach of the Year – Jedrzej Dlosz
Arbiter of the Year – Aleksander Sokolski
Sponsor of the Year – Krajowa Spolka Cukrowa “Polski Cukier”
Organizer of the Year – Maciej Cybulski
Clubs of the Year – Muks Stoczek, Bialy Krol Wisznia Mala-szachy
Journalist of the Year – Zbigniew Pakleza
Special Prize – Tomasz Zyzniewski
Full Shape – Andrzej Kwadziolka
Teacher of the Year as part of the “Education through Chess in School” program – Joanna Majdan

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top