Chess bits

Reykjavik Open 2017

The Reykjavik Open 2017 will be held for the 32nd time from April 19th till April 27th, 2017, in Harpa, the 28.000 sqm. concert hall, in Reykjavik, Iceland. The 2017 tournament is expected to be very strong.

The total prize-fund in the 2017 edition will be €15.000, including many special prizes for various age – and rating categories, in addition to the traditional top women’s prize.

The top prizes are EUR 5000/2000/1250/800/600 etc

The tournament format is 10-round Swiss with the time control 90 min/40 moves+30 min+30 sec/move 1. Draw offers are not allowed before move 30.

Official website

Harpa - the playing venue of Reykjavik Open

Harpa – the playing venue of Reykjavik Open

Last year the winner was GM Abhijeet Gupta.

The City of Reykjavík has sponsored the tournament since its inception in 1964, when Mikhail Tal won it with a record 12½ points out of 13. The tournament was initially held every two years, but has since 2008 taken place every year. It was closed in its early years, but has been an open event since the 1980s. Throughout its history the Reykjavik Open has featured many of the strongest chess players in the world at the time, including Mikhail Tal, Nona Gaprindashvili, David Bronstein, Vasili Smyslov, Bent Larsen, Friðrik Ólafsson, Mark Taimanov, Lev Polugaevsky, Jan Timman, Victor Korchnoi, Samuel Reshevsky, Anthony Miles, Nigel Short, Hikaru Nakamura, Judit Polgar, Magnus Carlsen, Alexander Grischuk, Fabiano Caruana, Anish Giri, Wei Yi, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Wesley So, Pavel Eljanov and Hou Yifan.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top