Chess News

Rochefort International Chess Festival 2015

The 14th Rochefort International Chess Festival is set to take place on 21-27th February, 2015, Room Colbert, at the Congress Palace, Rochefort, France.

Just days before the huge 31st Cappelle-la-Grande Open, the Rochefort Open is an excellent occasion for the players to test their preparation and use the perfect training opportunity.

The organizers have invested big effort to propose an interesting tournament for all-level players.

The players will be separated in two groups: “Masters” for players with rating above 1900 and “Accession” for players under 2000, the objective being to reduce the rating differences and to increase norm chances for candidate players.
More than 15 title norms were achieved since the inception of the Festival.

The winner of the 13th Rochefort Masters was GM Axel Bachmann from Paraguay.

Rochefort playing hall

Rochefort playing hall

The tournament will be played over 9 rounds of Swiss system, with rate of play 90 mins for 40 moves + 30 mins to the end and increment 30 sec from move one. The total prize fund is 7000 EUR, with 1000 EUR reserved for the winner of Masters.

On Wednesday evening there will be a traditional Blitz Tournament.

More information:
e-mail –
Website –

Rochefort is a port on the Charente estuary, in western France. The commune is home to unique bridge Pont transbordeur de Rochefort (built in 1900), Marine Museum, Conservatoire du Bégonia – the world’s largest begonia collection, and L’Hermione – replica of the legendary frigate built in 1779 in Rochefort.

News by IA Dominique Dervieux

Port de Rochefort

Port de Rochefort

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top